Oxford LibGuides: Caribbean Studies: Film

Film

Use the tabs above to explore the key resources and libraries for students of Caribbean studies. Access to collections and borrowing privileges are subject to conditions; please check individual library websites for further information.

Help with film

For those wishing to learn more about searching for physical collections in Oxford, we recommend the following:

SOLO: Search Oxford Libraries Online guide
A guide for students and researchers at the University of Oxford, or those visiting, who seek support in using the Bodleian Libraries resource discovery tool, SOLO.

Caribbean film is located in several Bodleian Libraries.

Bodleian Latin American Centre Library
The Library holds documentaries on Caribbean countries.
Taylor Institution Library
It houses Caribbean feature films.
Bodleian English Faculty Library
It has English-language films from Caribbean countries.
Bodleian Social Science Library
It holds the former Refugee Studies Centre's collection of documentary film which covers forced migration and human rights issues in Caribbean countries.

Links to Caribbean film sites:

CaFA - Caribbean Film Academy
Established in 2012, CaFA, is a non-profit organization dedicated to the promotion and support of Caribbean filmmaking and filmmakers, in the region and the diaspora.
Caribbean through a lens
Set of thousands of images taken from the collection of Foreign and Commonwealth Office images held at the National Archives.
CTFF- Caribbeantales International Film Festival
CaribbeanTales (CT) is a group of media companies that produces, markets, and exhibits Caribbean-themed films for regional and international distribution.
Fondation Clement
Contemporary art has a new home in the Caribbean as Martinique celebrated the grand opening of Fondation Clément, a 25,400+ square-foot museum showcasing fine modern works produced by artists from all corners of the Caribbean.
The Houston Caribbean Film Festival (HCFF)
The Houston Caribbean Film Festival (HCFF) is produced by The Caribbean American Heritage Foundation of Texas to promote and support Caribbean cinema.
Premios Coral
One of the best Latin-American and Caribbean film festival held in La Habana.
Villon Films
Videos, previews, stock footage, and photos from the collection are available in different formats from Villon Films.

Guides on film

Use the following libguide to locate Caribbean film in the Bodleain Libraries

Using SOLO to find Film Studies material

as well as the Film Studies Guide for further information on collections in Oxford

Film Studies

Caribbean Studies: Film

Introduction

Film

Help with film

Guides on film