Oxford LibGuides: Caribbean Studies: Free online resources

Introduction

In addition to resources the Bodleian Libraries purchases, there are a number of alternative free online resources to support the study of Caribbean studies. If you have any suggestions to help us expand this page, please contact laclib@bodleian.ox.ac.uk.

Free online resources

OERs are any type of teaching and/or learning materials that are freely available in the public domain, published under open licenses. Those listed below are applicable to the study of philosophy.

Future Learn
A diverse selection of courses from leading universities and cultural institutions from around the world.
MERLOT
The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners and researchers.

Banque Numérique des Patrimoines Martiniquais
It is a portal giving access to documents on the cultural and historical heritage of Martinique, backed up by the Martinique geographical information system (SIGMA)
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)
a cooperative digital library that provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Digital Library of Trinidad & Tobago
The Digital Library of Trinidad and Tobago is a growing collection of digital resources highlighting the people, places, lifestyle, culture and events of Trinidad and Tobago throughout its history.
dLOC: Digital Library of the Caribbean
provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
Endangered Archives Programme
Caribbean-related digital collections.
HISA
Bibliographic database for History of public health in Latin America and Caribbean.
LACLI
Explore a repository of free online resources for Latin American, Caribbean, Latinx, and Iberian studies.
Manioc
provides books, journals and images on Caribbean Amazonia.
Record Relating to the Slave Trade at the Liverpool Record Office
This collection contains the papers of merchants who were involved in this transatlantic slave trade during the period 1754-1792.
SIDALC-Agricultural Information & Documentation System for the Americas
It has more than 2.7 million references, including books, journals, theses and reports, and more than 250,000 full-text documents from 22 countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.
The Society for Caribbean Studies (UK) Annual Conference Papers
Conference papers of the Society for Caribbean Studies in the UK.
World Digital Library
A digital library of primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

Institute of Commonwealth Studies blog
The Institute of Commonwealth Studies Library blog.
The Library is a major resource for those working on the Commonwealth as a whole, or on any of its member states, in the fields of history, politics and international relations, agriculture, education, the environment, and social questions.
Repeating Islands blog
A site for information and commentary on Caribbean culture, literature, and the arts.
The History Reader
A history blog.

Political Map of Central America and the Caribbean (West Indies)
Interactive map of the countries in Central America and the Caribbean.
CARIBMAP
A cartographic history of the Caribbean islands.
Maps of the Caribbean, 1584-1845
This collection includes maps dating from the 16th to 19th centuries, published primarily in Paris, London, and Amsterdam.

CARICOM-Regional Statistics
Data supplied by CARICOM Member States.
Easter Caribbean Central Bank-Statistics
Offers financial statistics.
Trinidad and Tobago EITI Reports and Summary Reports
Revenues received from companies engaged in the extractive industries (mainly oil and gas upstream activities) .

British Library e-resource collections
Registered readers have access to the Library’s e-resource collections including official statistics databases and Caribbean digitised newspapers (1718-1876).
British Library Online Gallery
Researchers can find images of the Caribbean from the British Library collection. The Caribbean Views exhibit and the Black Europeans exhibit will be of particular interest.
British Library’s Flickr account.
Images and links to full text copies of printed materials related to the Caribbean
Brown University: Remember Haiti
The John Carter Brown Library is the preeminent research collection in the world for the study of the Americas prior to 1825.
Curious Minds
Compiled by academics and staff of the University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education in response to COVID-19, these freely available educational resources will help entertain you during challenging times.
Legacies of British Slave-ownership
The Centre for the Study of the Legacies of British Slavery is a research centre of the University College, London which focuses on revealing the impact of British slavery.

There are many portals guiding scholars to Caribbean studies information on the web. A selection of key sites are listed below.

British Library Caribbean Countries weblinks
The British Library collections of Caribbean materials.
Caribbean Collections at the Yale University Library Guide
Guide of Caribbean Resources & Collections at the Yale University Library.
ECLAC: The Caribbean Development Portal
Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean portal.
Internet Caribbean History Sourcebook (Fordham University)
Sourcebook freely available on the Fordham University website.
University of Michigan Library Guide to Caribbean studies
Guide of Caribbean Resources at the University of Michigan.

Disclaimer

We accept no responsibility for the content of these external websites, which may have their own terms and conditions.