Oxford LibGuides: Caribbean Studies: Tools for further research

Tools for further research

The following links can be used as starting points for Caribbean studies research:

Black Cultural Archives
collects and preserves materials which redress the historical balance and representation of people of African and Caribbean descent in Britain.
British Library: Caribbean Collections
The collection spans the 16th century through to the present day covering the English-, French- and Spanish-speaking Caribbean.
University of Miami: Cuban Heritage Collection
is home to the largest repository of materials on Cuba outside of the island and the most comprehensive collection of resources about Cuban exile history and the global Cuban diaspora experience.
University of Nottingham
Many articles and research material are accesible from it's website.

Caribbean Studies Libraries and collections outside Oxford

There are a number of key Caribbean Studies Libraries. A selection is listed below:

British Library
The British Library holds the largest collection of Caribbean materials in the UK, including unique or very rare printed and manuscript materials on exploration, conquest, slavery and natural history.
The Caribbean Studies Collection, Institute of Latin American Studies, University of London
The Caribbean studies collections at the Institute of Historical Research, the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies and Senate House libraries are some of the largest and most varied in the UK.
Centre for Amerindian, Latin American and Caribbean Studies (CAS), University of St Andrews.
Part of The Department of Social Anthropology , the CAS Centre for Amerindian, Latin American and Caribbean Studies is one of one of the oldest research centres at The University of St Andrews.
Centre for Latin American and Caribbean Studies, University of Essex.
A Latin American Studies Centre was founded at the University of Essex in 1968 which has since then been a leading centre in the UK.
Centre for Latin American and Caribbean Studies, University of Manchester.
The Centre for Latin American and Caribbean Studies (CLACS) brings together a diverse range of researchers from across the Faculty of Humanities.
Centre for Latin American Research and Documentation, University of Amsterdam.
Since its creation in 1964, the Centre for Latin American Research and Documentation (CEDLA), hosted by the University of Amsterdam, has promoted Latin American Studies in the Netherlands, Europe and beyond.
Institute of Commonwealth Studies Library, University of London.
located on the sixth floor of Senate House Library, is a major resource for those working on the Commonwealth.
Institute of Development Studies, University of Sussex.
IDS is at the forefront of international development.
Senate House Library, University of London.
the central library for the University of London and the School of Advanced Study.
Yesu Persaud Centre for Caribbean Studies, Warrick University.
established in October 1984, its principal aim is to stimulate teaching and research on the Caribbean.

Societies and associations

Caribbean Studies Association (CSA)
an independent professional organization devoted to the promotion of Caribbean studies from a multidisciplinary, multicultural point of view.
Latin American Studies Association (LASA)
the largest professional association in the world for individuals and institutions engaged in the study of Latin America.
Society for Caribbean Studies (SCS)
The main activity of the Society is its Annual Conference, which has been held every year since 1977.
Society for Latin American Studies (SLAS)
Founded in 1964, the Society for Latin American Studies is a subject association that covers all aspects of Latin American society and culture.
Caribbean Studies Network (CSN)
The CSN is an open space within and beyond the University of Oxford, from TORCH to Temple Cowley to Trinidad. It provides a home for Caribbean Studies at the university; works with the community to preserve and maintain Oxford’s Caribbean history; and connects the city and university to thinkers, scholars, and artists across the world.

LAC Library Special Collections

The Latin American Centre Library has a number of special collections, including our Institution and Private Collection Boxes on Caribbean countries.

The material is mostly twentieth century and covers a wide range of subjects such as economics, history, politics, and colonial reports.

A full list of catalogued material until today can be found here and content of boxes can be seen from SOLO. If you would like to access this material, please ask at the Library Office.

iSkills: Information Sources for Caribbean Studies

Bodleian Libraries offers various iSkills sessions including useful finding tools to locate relevant material via SOLO and how to search them, as well as important portals and gateways to libraries and archives of online primary texts.

Workshops and Classes: Bodleian iSkills

Caribbean Studies: Tools for further research

Introduction

Tools for further research

Caribbean Studies Libraries and collections outside Oxford

Societies and associations

LAC Library Special Collections

iSkills: Information Sources for Caribbean Studies