Caribbean Studies: Archives

Audio archive of the BBC Caribbean programmes: 1988-2011.

guide to its collections.

held at the British Library.

a guide for those interested in the culture and history of the Caribbean by New York University.

The bulk of the ephemera currently found in the Digital Archive of Latin American and Caribbean Ephemera was originally created around the turn of the 20th century and after, with some originating as recently as within the last year. The formats or genre most commonly included are pamphlets, flyers, leaflets, brochures, posters, stickers, and postcards. These items were originally created by a wide array of social activists, non-governmental organizations, government agencies, political parties, public policy think tanks, and other types of organizations in order to publicize their views, positions, agendas, policies, events, and activities. The vast majority are rare, hard-to-find primary sources unavailable elsewhere.

the history of the British Caribbean is explored in this exhibition through government documents, photographs and maps dating from the 17th century to the 1920s and discovered during a cataloguing project at The National Archives of the United Kingdom.

is an essential tool for locating manuscripts and archives in the UK.

The Rare Books and Manuscripts Reading Room is on the first floor of the Weston Library.

Tanner's collections contain much on the 17th-century Church and many papers relating to the Civil War and Interregnum.

The Rawlinson manuscript collection contains letters, papers, and records from 1253 to 1753. Includes a selective microfilm edition.

Ashmole collection is strong in heraldry and local history as well as other subjects.

also contain material on estates in Jamaica.

contain information on the abolition of slavery, the apprenticeship system and the treatment of indigenous people in the Caribbean.

The archive of the Anglican missionary organization, the United Society for the Propagation of the Gospel, founded in 1701, is a rich resource particularly for education in the Caribbean.

founded to research and advise on colonial policy, contains papers on the Caribbean dating from the mid-1930s to the mid-1960s.

is a vital resource for research on development and disaster relief in the Caribbean from the 1960s to the early 21st century, particularly the programme policy records and the project files.

The David Reading Room is on the fifth floor of the Weston Library.

represent only a small part of the wealth of historical and archival treasures held by the contributing archives, libraries, and museums. Maps collected here date from 1564 through the present. The majority of maps in this collection document a colonial past.

Royal Commonwealth Society Library Photograph Collection, University of Cambridge. This collection contains over 70,000 images dating from the mid-1850s to the mid-1980s and provides insight into the history of the Commonwealth, documenting developments in a wide variety of fields including medicine, education and industry.