Oxford LibGuides: Caribbean Studies: Home

Finding books for Caribbean Studies

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for Caribbean Studies and printed books, including the main Latin American collection in the Bodleian Latin American Centre Library. For more detailed information about our book collections visit our books page of this guide.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
SOLO user guide
If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available online and can be searched via SOLO. Below are a few of the top journals for Caribbean Studies but you can find a longer list on the journals page of this guide.

Caribbean studies
A peer-reviewed multidisciplinary journal that publishes twice a year original works on the Social Sciences and the Humanities in English, Spanish and French languages.
The journal is divided in four parts: articles, research notes, book reviews, and news and events.
Caribbean today
An interdisciplinary journal publishing international research on all aspects of Caribbean culture including ethnology, history, religion and creative arts.
SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Caribbean Studies below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for more titles.

Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI)
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
HAPI currently provides over 60,000 links to the full text of articles appearing in more than 600 key social science and humanities journals published throughout the world.
PRISMA with HAPI Full Text
PRISMA (Publicaciones y Revistas Sociales y Humanísticas) is a comprehensive reference resource providing full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities for the interdisciplinary academic study of Hispanic and Latin America, and the Caribbean Basin.

Databases A-Z
A full, browsable list of Oxford's online databases.
SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.

Official publications

The Bodleian Libraries hold a range of official papers in print and online from principal Commonwealth countries. Below are two key resources but for more detailed information about our official publications visit the official publications page of this guide.

U.K. Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest)
Alternative names: HCCP ; House of Commons Parliamentary Papers (ProQuest) ; UK Parliamentary Papers ; UKPP

With all collections enabled, HCPP now includes over 200,000 House of Commons sessional papers from 1715 to the present, with supplementary material back to 1688. HCPP delivers page images and searchable full text for each paper, along with detailed indexing.
We have access to the following collections:
* 18th century (1688-1834)
* 19th century (1801-1900)
* 20th century (1901-2003/04 session)
* Hansard 1803-2005 the official record of the debates in the House of Lords and Commons.
Both Houses of Parliament, the Commons and the Lords, produce parliamentary papers. Although HCPP is a collection of Commons papers, some from the Lords are also included. This is because the Lords often presented papers to the Commons, such as reports prepared by Lords Select Committees. These reports were then included in the House of Commons Papers, and therefore appear in HCPP.

Foreign Office Confidential Prints
with several thousand documents relating to Caribbean countries.

Other useful resources

In addition to books, journals and databases, you may be interested in our recommendations around free online resources, theses, film, and some tools for research.

Rebeca Otazua (Senior Library Assistant)

Rebeca Otazua

Email Me

Contact:

Bodleian Latin American Centre Library
1 Church Walk
Oxford
OX2 6LY

01865 2 74483

Related guides

Latin American Studies
Latin American Jurisdictions
Latin American History
Latin American Studies Index
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Region 5, Latin America
International Development
Case law: online resources for common law countries
Newspapers and other online news sources from the 17th – 21st centuries
A guide how to find and use newspaper resources.

Key libraries

Latin American Centre Library
The Bodleian Latin American Centre Library (LAC) is Oxford University's main teaching Latin American studies library.
Bodleian Library
The Bodleian Library is Oxford University's main research Latin American studies library.
Bodleian Law Library
History Faculty Library

Oxford University Colleges collections:

David Nicholls Memorial Trust at Regent's Park College: it houses a large Caribbean book collection and offers awards for postgraduate research in Caribbean Studies.

More about this collection can be found here.

The Pembroke Bermuda Collection at Pembroke College.

Reading lists for Caribbean Studies

Reading lists on CANVAS
Readings lists for Oxford Latin American studies students are available in CANVAS (SSO required)

Caribbean Studies: Home

Purpose of this guide