Oxford online collections
Ashmolean Museum, Eastern Art Online (Yousef Jameel Centre for Islamic and Asian Art)
Extremely high quality images of objects in the Ashmolean Museum's Eastern Art Department collections. Multiple views of each object.
Ashmolean Museum, Elements of Drawing
John Ruskin's teaching collection at Oxford.
Ashmolean Museum, Western Art Drawings Online
Images of all the Italian, French, French Ornament and Russian drawings, as well as some of the English and German drawings held by the Western Art Department’s Print Room, Ashmolean Museum.
Ashmolean Museum, Western Art Paintings Online
Images of the Paintings Collection held by the Western Art Department, Ashmolean Museum.
Bodleian Libraries Special Collections
Approx. 35,000 images from a large variety of Bodleian Special Collections resources.
John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera (Bodleian Library)
Collection comprises printed ephemeral materials (eg. posters, playbills) dating from the 18th century to 1939. It is partly accessible online. Images can be found through:
Further information on the John Johnson Collection:
Visual Resources Centre, History of Art Department
Holds over 90,000 35mm slides of art and architecture from classical antiquity to the present day. There is also a rare collection of over 65,000 glass lantern slides from the nineteenth and early twentieth century. A significant proportion of this focuses on architecture.
ARTstor (restricted access to Oxford University domain)
Union collection of image collections worldwide. Approaching 1,000,000 images covering all periods, all geographic areas and all types of art, architecture and archaeology as well as other subject areas in the Humanities, Social Sciences and History of Medicine and Science. Contributing collections include libraries, museums and archives, including the Bodleian’s Western Manuscripts and Incunabula collection. All periods, all geographic areas.
Bridgeman Education (restricted access to Oxford University domain)
300,000+ images of objects, including from Oxford museums, galleries and private collections as well as buildings and monuments.
Art UK (Public Catalogue Foundation & BBC)
Digitised images of UK public collections of oil paintings, ranging from large national art galleries to small local museums. Includes Oxford's university and college collections (ongoing).
VADS (Visual Arts Data Service)
Union collection of UK-based image collections (although not all the objects are British). Contributing collections include libraries, museums and archives, including the Bodleian’s John Johnson Collection of Printed Ephemera and the Oxford Portraits Collection. Periods covered: Medieval – Modern.
Library collections & photo archives
Museum & art gallery collections
Other image collections