The Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library is the premier research library for the study of art, architecture and archaeology at Oxford. It incorporates multiple libraries previously housed in separate locations around the University.
Photographs and film footage documenting events and a changing society in C20th Italy, from L.U.C.E. (L'Unione Cinematografica Educativa, founded in 1924).
Photographs and film footage documenting events and a changing society in C20th Italy, from L.U.C.E. (L'Unione Cinematografica Educativa, founded in 1924).
Full-text archive of periodicals (cover-to-cover colour scans) in the fields of art and architecture. Date range: 19thC – 21stC. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography worldwide.
Full-text archive of periodicals (cover-to-cover colour scans) in the fields of art and architecture. Date range: 19thC – 21stC. Subjects covered include fine art, decorative arts, architecture, interior design, industrial design, and photography worldwide.
Art Index Retrospective is an archive index chronicling over a half a century of art literature. Covering fine, decorative and commercial art, it indexes hundreds of publications, plus thousands of book reviews, interviews, anthologies and more.
On-line video streaming of 450 films on art produced by the UK’s Arts Council England film department, 1953-1998. Includes films about individual artists as well as on more general topics.
Note: Arts Council England films can only be streamed to ac.uk domain addresses; i.e. you will need to be within the university network to watch these films.
Arts on Film Archive offers on-line access to a large range of films on art produced in the United Kingdom since the 1950s, and is a unique record of British and international post-war art, as well as of documentary film-making in the UK. Many titles in the collection contain rare material about individual artists, while others offer definitive coverage of their subject. The archive is an invaluable primary research resource for a wide range of scholars in arts and humanities. Its films contain valuable source material for biographies, monographs, and many other forms of research in art history and documentary film-making.
Union collection of image collections worldwide. Approaching 1,000,000 images covering all periods, all geographic areas and all types of art, architecture and archaeology as well as other subject areas in the Humanities, Social Sciences and History of Medicine and Science. Contributing collections include libraries, museums and archives, including the Bodleian’s Western Manuscripts and Incunabula collection. All periods, all geographic areas.
Alternative name: ART stor
ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data and the tools to actively use those images.
The ARTstor Library is a collection of collections. It is the product of a growing number of collection development partnerships with individuals and institutions in the US and abroad. The ARTstor Library may be searched as an integrated whole or by its constituent collections.
Users of ARTstor may not use the content in ARTstor for any commercial purpose, including incorporating content in print or electronic publications distributed through a press (whether commercial or non-commercial). Additionally, users may not distribute widely ARTstor content, such as through unrestricted websites.
Contains over 4000 video copies of artists' works, approximately 5000 still images, files on 450 artists, a library of over 1000 books and magazines, a collection of historical posters and publicity materials, and documentation relating to key artist-led organisations, public funding bodies, etc.
Covers experimental and avant-garde film, video art, artists' television, and gallery-based installations made by British and British-based artists. It provides information on several thousand works, including the date of making, first exhibition site (if known), and often a short synopsis. If possible, it identifies where copies of the works are held. It is a catalogue only and does not give access to online streaming of the films.
Contains over 4000 films and videos by over 1000 international artists, ranging from the 1920s to the present. Includes rare and unique materials as well as restored classics.
Online archive of films relating to the Tate Gallery’s collections. Includes artists’ films, artist interviews, short films about Tate exhibitions and artworks, and recordings of Tate talks and symposia. All films are streamed online.
Make sure you are using an up-to-date version of Flash Player when you try to access the films.
