Oxford LibGuides: Art and Architecture: Edgar Wind &amp; Oxford

Edgar Wind at the University of Oxford

1954 – 1955 Chichele Lecturer - All Souls College, University of Oxford

1955 – 1967 Professor of the History of Art, University of Oxford

Edgar Marcel Wind
Unknown photographer
© Warburg Institute, London

Materials relating to Wind’s career and his time at Oxford are divided among several University locations:

Archive
Wind's personal papers are held by the Weston Library's Department of Special Collections & Western Manuscripts. These papers include, inter alia, notes and correspondence relating to his lectures and classes in Oxford and also his publications.
Link here to the Edgar Wind Papers Finding Aid (Catalogue).
Library Collections
A small component of Wind’s personal library, as well as the books he collected for the former History of Art departmental library, are housed at the Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library, Bodleian Libraries.
Please see sub-tab 'Library Collections' for more details.
Publications
Wind's many publications can be found through SOLO, the Bodleian Libraries online catalogue. They are held predominantly at the Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library, with many additional copies housed in other University and college libraries as well as the Bodleian Libraries' offsite facility.
Slides
The slides made for Wind’s lectures and classes are in the History of Art Department’s Visual Resources Centre.

Edgar Wind's Oxford Lectures and Classes

Based on documents in the Wind Archive.

Edgar Wind's lectures & classes at the University of Oxford
© Wind Benefaction Committee for the Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library, University of Oxford, 2008

Contact

Art & Architecture Librarian, Bodleian Libraries
Email: artlib-enquiries@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Biographical Resources

Dictionary of Art Historians Online biographical dictionary of major art historians worldwide. Includes bibliography on works by the historian as well as works about their life.
Online biographical dictionary of major art historians worldwide. Includes bibliography on works by the historian as well as works about his/her life.

Edgar Wind Journal (2021 - )

Oxford Dictionary of National Biography Full-text extended essays not only on British people but also non-Brits. who spent time in the UK. Excellent resource for finding biographical information on artists, art historians, patrons, collectors and dealers. People still alive are excluded.
Alternative names: DNB ; Oxford DNB ; ODNB ; Dictionary of National Biography

***
In order to access ODNB, please follow the link above. If you are accessing remotely, you may be prompted to enter your SSO credentials. You will then be taken to the ODNB homepage, and you should see a message “University of Oxford” displayed above the login box. At this point you will have gained access to full text articles, and there is no need to log in on the ODNB homepage. In order to access the articles from the search results, you will need to click on their titles. If you still have experienced problems with ODNB, please clear your cache and cookies, as previous unsuccessful login attempts may be interfering with the current session, and then follow the above instructions again. The recent issues with ODNB's new interface have been flagged with the OUP.
***
After twelve years' work, involving over 10,000 people, writing and editing 60 million words to produce a 60 volume book, and a website with over 100,000 pages, the Oxford DNB was published on 23 September 2004.
An illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000. Remarkable people in any walk of life who were connected with the British Isles - excluding living people. It includes not just the great and good, but people who have left a mark for any reason, good, bad, or bizarre.

Art and Architecture: Edgar Wind & Oxford

Introduction

Edgar Wind at the University of Oxford

Edgar Wind's Oxford Lectures and Classes

Contact

Biographical Resources