Art and Architecture: Late Antique and Medieval World

Coverage dates: Indexing 1984-, Abstracting 1994-

Full Text 1995 -

This database offers abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications as well as full-text to over 300 periodicals - now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. In addition to articles, Art Abstracts indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Subjects Covered

Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Computers in Art, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, Video.

A comprehensive index of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design and historic preservation. Offers access to 2,500 international journals, most of which are not indexed elsewhere, and nearly 600,000 citations dating to the mid-18th century. Indexes the international scholarly and popular periodical literature as well as the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.

Coverage 1741- present, updated weekly.

This resource provides online access to books and articles in key subject areas in European Medieval Studies such as Church History & Monasticism, Language and Literature, Manuscript Studies, Philosophy, Theology and History of Science.

It comprises two main parts:

•Medieval Collection (559+ Brepols monographs).

•Medieval Miscellanea Collection (5,000+ book chapters and articles in miscellanies Brepols publications since 1998) - this replaces Brepols Miscellanea Online: Essays in Medieval Studies

Books included are published in series such as Culture et société médiévales, Europa Sacra, Utrecht Studies in Medieval Literacy, Medieval Church Studies, Collection d'études médiévales de Nice, Studies in European Urban History (1100-1800) and more. Please note that not all volumes in a series may have been digitised. Articles are indexed in the International Medieval Bibliography.

The International Medieval Bibliograpy (IMB) database comprises records deriving from articles published in periodicals (journals) and in miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues) published world-wide. It can be searched as part of Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies.

All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 300-1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.

Please note that we only have a three user licence for this title so please exit when you have finished!

Iter's bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues).

The Catholic Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive resource on Catholic teaching, history, and information ever gathered in all of human history. This easy-to-search online version was originally printed in fifteen hardcopy volumes.

Designed to present its readers with the full body of Catholic teaching, the Encyclopedia contains not only precise statements of what the Church has defined, but also an impartial record of different views of acknowledged authority on all disputed questions, national, political or factional. In the determination of the truth the most recent and acknowledged scientific methods are employed, and the results of the latest research in theology, philosophy, history, apologetics, archaeology, and other sciences are given careful consideration.

No one who is interested in human history, past and present, can ignore the Catholic Church, either as an institution which has been the central figure in the civilized world for nearly two thousand years, decisively affecting its destinies, religious, literary, scientific, social and political, or as an existing power whose influence and activity extend to every part of the globe. In the past century the Church has grown both extensively and intensively among English-speaking peoples. Their living interests demand that they should have the means of informing themselves about this vast institution, which, whether they are Catholics or not, affects their fortunes and their destiny.

The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the 1990s.

ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data and the tools to actively use those images.

The ARTstor Library is a collection of collections. It is the product of a growing number of collection development partnerships with individuals and institutions in the US and abroad. The ARTstor Library may be searched as an integrated whole or by its constituent collections.

Users of ARTstor may not use the content in ARTstor for any commercial purpose, including incorporating content in print or electronic publications distributed through a press (whether commercial or non-commercial). Additionally, users may not distribute widely ARTstor content, such as through unrestricted websites.

Bridgeman Education is an expanding resource currently comprising over 300,000 images representing objects from museums, galleries and private collections, as well as buildings and monuments. Its images cover visual culture worldwide, from pre-History to the present day. Media covered include photography, fine art, engravings, sculpture, architecture, the decorative arts, artefacts and applied arts. It addresses the interests of such disciplines as art, architecture, archaeology, anthropology, & ethnography, history, science & medicine.

All images are cleared for educational use.

This site provides access to over 80 early manuscripts now in institutions associated with the University of Oxford.

Access to the massive photographic collection (ca. 200,000 images) assembled by art historian and connoisseur Fererico Zeri. The photographs document mainly Italian art, located in Italy and also elsewhere.

The Index of Medieval Art (formerly Index of Christian Art) was founded by Professor Charles Rufus Morey (1877-1955) in 1917 and it is now the most important and largest archive of medieval art anywhere in the world. Nearly two thousand works of art are added to the archive on an annual basis.

The Index records works of art produced without geographical limitations from early apostolic times up to A.D. 1400 (extended in the case of the Morgan and Princeton Library projects to include this manuscript holdings up to the end of the sixteenth century). As is to be expected, there is a particular emphasis and focus on art of the western world. Seventeen different media are represented in the archive, and these include manuscripts, metalwork, sculpture, painting, glass, and so forth.

Parker on the Web is an interactive, web-based workspace designed to support

the use and study of over 500 MSS in the historic Parker Library at Corpus

Christi College, Cambridge. The Library's holdings of Old English texts account for a substantial proportion of all extant MSS in Anglo-Saxon,including the earliest copy of the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle (c. 890) and unique copies of Old English poems. The project aimed to produce a high-resolution digital copy of every imageable page of most of the manuscripts. To provide a viewing environment for the images, an interactive web application was built which allows use by scholars and students in the context of supporting descriptive material and bibliography.

Online catalogue of 13th – 19th century Italian paintings in French public collections. In progress.

The online catalogue is an index to monographs, exhibition catalogues, essays, reviews and periodical articles on European art and architecture, with a primary (but by no means exclusive) focus on Italy.

OCLC catalogue of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.

Contains all the records catalogued by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records. Includes records representing 400 languages. Over 95,000,000 records added since 1971.

Coverage - before 1000 BC to present, updated daily.