Art and Architecture: Classical & Ancient Near Eastern World

The online edition of the International Database of Artists is the world's most contemporary, reliable and extensive reference work on artists and contains information on visual artists from A as in ANDERS A. to Z as in ZZÜRCHER, from the classical era up to the present, from every country in the world: the database covers painters, graphic designers, sculptors, architects, designers, photographers, calligraphers, craftsmen and many more.

NOTE : You need to search under the German spelling of the artist – e.g., Tizian, NOT Titian.

NOTE : Full-text is incomplete:

The database makes the complete articles from all published volumes of the Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon (AKL) incl. the supplementary volumes searchable, plus giving access to short biographical information from A to Z, based on the entries from the editorial content management system of the AKL, the Thieme-Becker and Vollmer and the AKL's Bio-Bibliographical Index A-Z (second edition 2007-2009).

Updates are permanently made and displayed as "Addenda" underneath the original articles.

NOTE : Entries are not just in German:

The database now provides approx. 5,300 original manuscripts (PDF) of non-German writing AKL authors to improve accessibility for our foreign-language users. You can open these PDF files by clicking the link "Original article by the author ()" above the AKL fulltext. We will continously extend the number of these articles.

NEW: due to the print-oriented kind of the full text articles many abbreviations are used. To ease the understanding of the texts we now provide the meaning of these abbreviations in a separate browser window. You can reach them by clicking the links.

The database contains over 1 million artists entries, among them with fulltext.215,000 articles from the AKL volumes 1-63 with supplementary volumes 1-3 and 4,000 articles from the Künstlerlexikon der Antike (Dictionary of Artists of the Classical World)

Coverage dates: Indexing 1984-, Abstracting 1994-

Full Text 1995 -

This database offers abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications as well as full-text to over 300 periodicals - now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. In addition to articles, Art Abstracts indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Subjects Covered

Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Computers in Art, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, Video.

The New Pauly provides comprehensive coverage of the ancient world from the prehistory of the Aegean (2nd millennium BCE) to late antiquity (600-800 CE). A special section of the encyclopedia is devoted to the reception of the ancient world until the present day and the history of classical scholarship. The scholarship of the New Pauly reflects both traditional and new areas and approaches presented by internationally recognised leading experts. The articles in the New Pauly cover all aspects of the ancient world: persons, places, institutions, events, artefacts, technical terms, ideas and concepts etc. The subject goes beyond the traditional paradigm by giving special attention to the interaction between Greek and Roman culture and the neighbouring Semitic, Celtic, Germanic etc. cultures. Many articles are illustrated with maps, site plans, genealogical tables, and black and white photographs.

This website also includes the following supplement volumes:

* 1: Chronologies of the Ancient World - Names, Dates and Dynasties

* 2: Dictionary of Greek and Latin Authors and Texts

* 3: Historical Atlas of the Ancient World

* 4: The Reception of Myth and Mythology

* 5: The Reception of Classical Literature

* 6: History of classical Scholarship - A Biographical Dictionary

* 7: Figures of Antiquity and their Reception in Art, Literature and Music

Important note on Fonts: Many of the texts included in Brill Online include special characters, such as accented letters and non Roman writing systems, which can sometimes appear incorrectly in your browser. This can be resolved by ensuring that you have a font installed on your computer that includes all of the special characters. If characters are not appearing correctly please see the information under "Fonts" on the left hand side of the Brill Homepage.

Dyabola is a database interface providing access to (among other databases) the Archäologische Bibliographie, a near-comprehensive bibliographical store of the monograph and peroidical literature of classical archaeology from 1956 to the present day based on the subject catalogue of the library collections of the Deutsches Archaologisches Institut in Rome.

ETANA is envisioned to include the permanent archiving, dissemination and generation of both front- and back-end stages of scholarly knowledge (such as archaeological excavation reports, editions of ancient and modern texts, core early monographs, dictionaries, journals, and reports in the public domain), a portal to ANE Web resources, an electronic commons where scholars in the field can share data and images, and eventually an electronic publishing effort for "born digital" publications. ETANA will also collect and/or develop software required for the production of the Internet site in core areas identified by planning committees.

The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the 1990s.

***

In order to access ODNB, please follow the link above. If you are accessing remotely, you may be prompted to enter your SSO credentials. You will then be taken to the ODNB homepage, and you should see a message “University of Oxford” displayed above the login box. At this point you will have gained access to full text articles, and there is no need to log in on the ODNB homepage. In order to access the articles from the search results, you will need to click on their titles. If you still have experienced problems with ODNB, please clear your cache and cookies, as previous unsuccessful login attempts may be interfering with the current session, and then follow the above instructions again. The recent issues with ODNB's new interface have been flagged with the OUP.

***

After twelve years' work, involving over 10,000 people, writing and editing 60 million words to produce a 60 volume book, and a website with over 100,000 pages, the Oxford DNB was published on 23 September 2004.

An illustrated collection of 50,000 specially written biographies of the men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2000. Remarkable people in any walk of life who were connected with the British Isles - excluding living people. It includes not just the great and good, but people who have left a mark for any reason, good, bad, or bizarre.

OCLC catalogue of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.

Contains all the records catalogued by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records. Includes records representing 400 languages. Over 95,000,000 records added since 1971.

Coverage - before 1000 BC to present, updated daily.

ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data and the tools to actively use those images.

The ARTstor Library is a collection of collections. It is the product of a growing number of collection development partnerships with individuals and institutions in the US and abroad. The ARTstor Library may be searched as an integrated whole or by its constituent collections.

Users of ARTstor may not use the content in ARTstor for any commercial purpose, including incorporating content in print or electronic publications distributed through a press (whether commercial or non-commercial). Additionally, users may not distribute widely ARTstor content, such as through unrestricted websites.

The Classical Art Research Centre (CARC) is a strategic research units of the Oxford University Faculty of Classics, created out of the Beazley Archive in 2007.

The original archive of Sir John Beazley (1885-1970), acquired by the University in the 1960's, was installed in the Cast Gallery of the Ashmolean Museum in 1970. Under the direction of Dr Donna Kurtz the original 'paper archive' of photographs (c.250,000), notes, drawings and books relating to ancient Greek art has been catalogued and greatly expanded. In 1979 Information Technology projects began with the Pottery Database of Athenian figure-decorated vases of the 7th-4th centuries BC. Since 1992 IT projects on other aspects of classical art have been created.

Bridgeman Education is an expanding resource currently comprising over 300,000 images representing objects from museums, galleries and private collections, as well as buildings and monuments. Its images cover visual culture worldwide, from pre-History to the present day. Media covered include photography, fine art, engravings, sculpture, architecture, the decorative arts, artefacts and applied arts. It addresses the interests of such disciplines as art, architecture, archaeology, anthropology, & ethnography, history, science & medicine.

All images are cleared for educational use.

An illustrated catalogue of more than 100,000 ancient vases.