The Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library is the premier research library for the study of art, architecture and archaeology at Oxford. It incorporates multiple libraries previously housed in separate locations around the University.
Scans, transcriptions and English-language translations of every known notary document in the Archivio di Stato (Rome), relating to the founding and early history of the Accademia di San Luca, Rome.
Primary source materials relating to the history of the arts (and architecture) in America, from 1620 to the present. Collections comprise artists’, architects’, galleries’, collectors’, and critics’ papers (including sketchbooks and photographs), as well as numerous oral histories (& transcripts).
Alternative name: Smithsonian Archives of American Art
Since 1954, the Archives has collected roughly 16 million letters, photographs, diaries, oral history interviews, sketches, scrapbooks, business records, and other documents that support the study of the history of the visual arts in America.
Index to the locations of the papers of artists, designers and craftspeople held in publicly accessible collections in the United Kingdom and Ireland.
Note: Architects’ papers are not included in the APR.
A location register of the papers of artists, designers and craftspeople held in publicly accessible collections in the United Kingdom and Ireland and represents a more current, detailed and extensive guide to the papers of artists and designers in the United Kingdom than any existing resource.
Access to inventories and other documents from city, state, and national archives: Works of art from private collections in France, Italy, The Netherlands, and Spain. Period covered: 1550 - 1840.
The Getty Provenance Index® Databases, part of the Project for the Study of Collecting and Provenance (PSCP), are compiled with the collaborative participation of institutions and individuals in Europe and the United States. The databases contain indexed transcriptions of material from auction catalogs and archival inventories of western European works of art, and contain nearly 1,000,000 records that cover the period from the late 16th century to the early 20th century. The databases are available free of charge via the Web.
Compiled by Margaret Haines. Online edition of the entire contents of the archive of Florence’s Opera del Duomo for the years during which Brunelleschi’s cupola was planned and constructed (1417-1436).
Access to the Medici Grand Ducal Archive through scans and transcriptions of original documents. Individuals can be searched according to role (e.g. actors, architects, artists, collectors, poets, printers, patrons).
Massive union catalogue of countless libraries worldwide. Useful for finding books and archival materials beyond Oxford.
Alternative name: World Cat
OCLC catalogue of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.
Contains all the records catalogued by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records. Includes records representing 400 languages. Over 95,000,000 records added since 1971.
Coverage - before 1000 BC to present, updated daily.
