Art and Architecture: Electronic Resources

The online edition of the International Database of Artists is the world's most contemporary, reliable and extensive reference work on artists and contains information on visual artists from A as in ANDERS A. to Z as in ZZÜRCHER, from the classical era up to the present, from every country in the world: the database covers painters, graphic designers, sculptors, architects, designers, photographers, calligraphers, craftsmen and many more.

NOTE : You need to search under the German spelling of the artist – e.g., Tizian, NOT Titian.

NOTE : Full-text is incomplete:

The database makes the complete articles from all published volumes of the Allgemeines Künstlerlexikon (AKL) incl. the supplementary volumes searchable, plus giving access to short biographical information from A to Z, based on the entries from the editorial content management system of the AKL, the Thieme-Becker and Vollmer and the AKL's Bio-Bibliographical Index A-Z (second edition 2007-2009).

Updates are permanently made and displayed as "Addenda" underneath the original articles.

NOTE : Entries are not just in German:

The database now provides approx. 5,300 original manuscripts (PDF) of non-German writing AKL authors to improve accessibility for our foreign-language users. You can open these PDF files by clicking the link "Original article by the author ()" above the AKL fulltext. We will continously extend the number of these articles.

NEW: due to the print-oriented kind of the full text articles many abbreviations are used. To ease the understanding of the texts we now provide the meaning of these abbreviations in a separate browser window. You can reach them by clicking the links.

The database contains over 1 million artists entries, among them with fulltext.215,000 articles from the AKL volumes 1-63 with supplementary volumes 1-3 and 4,000 articles from the Künstlerlexikon der Antike (Dictionary of Artists of the Classical World)

The Art Sales Catalogues online database is the online edition of the Répetoire des Catalogues de Ventes Publiques by Frits Lugt combined with the possibility to access complete art sales catalogues. This database provides a multitude of search options. Many recently discovered catalogues have been added and corrections to the original Répertoire have been made. The database can be consulted both in French and in English. The Libraries database gives the opportunity to search through libraries with holdings of art sales catalogues.

SCIPIO: Art and Rare Book Sales Catalogs describes art auction and rare book catalogs for sales from the late sixteenth century to scheduled auctions not yet held. Records include the dates and places of sales, the auction houses, sellers, institutional holdings, and titles of works. Updated daily, SCIPIO has more than 500,000 records.

OCLC catalogue of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.

Contains all the records catalogued by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records. Includes records representing 400 languages. Over 95,000,000 records added since 1971.

Coverage - before 1000 BC to present, updated daily.