Art and Architecture: Middle East & Islamic World

ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogues, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 12-13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s.

ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, and including photography since its invention. It includes abstracts of English and foreign-language material on famous and lesser-known artists, movements, and trends. The coverage of ABM is wide-ranging and includes performance art and installation works, video art, computer and electronic art, body art, graffiti, artists' books, theatre arts, conservation, crafts, ceramic and glass art, ethnic arts, graphic and museum design, fashion, and calligraphy, as well as traditional media including illustration, painting, printmaking, sculpture, and drawing.

ABM is used by students and researchers around the world to pinpoint publications and writings relevant to their area of study. Its extensive classification system and comprehensive abstracts make it an ideal source for information on artists, art movements, art history and theory, design, photography, and crafts.

Coverage dates: Indexing 1984-, Abstracting 1994-

Full Text 1995 -

This database offers abstracts and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications as well as full-text to over 300 periodicals - now with expanded coverage of Latin American, Canadian, Asian and other non-Western art, new artists, contemporary art, exhibition reviews, and feminist criticism. In addition to articles, Art Abstracts indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals.

Subjects Covered

Advertising Art, Antiques, Archaeology, Architecture and Architectural History, Art History, Computers in Art, Crafts, Decorative Arts, Fashion Design, Folk Art, Graphic Arts, Industrial Design, Interior Design, Landscape Architecture, Motion Pictures, Museology, Non-Western Art, Painting, Photography, Pottery, Sculpture, Television, Textiles, Video.

A comprehensive index of journal articles published worldwide on architecture and design, archaeology, city planning, interior design and historic preservation. Offers access to 2,500 international journals, most of which are not indexed elsewhere, and nearly 600,000 citations dating to the mid-18th century. Indexes the international scholarly and popular periodical literature as well as the publications of professional associations, US state and regional periodicals, and the major serial publications on architecture and design of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Australia.

Coverage 1741- present, updated weekly.

CHO is a digital collection of 250+ titles published since 1960 as part of the Cambridge Histories series. The collection presents an authoritative reference compendium for histories of many countries (e.g. Britain, Europe, US, Middle East, Far East, Latin America) and over 15 academic subjects (e.g. Classics, History, History of Science, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religion).

The resource includes personalisation features, such as saved searches, workspaces and bookmarks, and citation export functionality.

Contains the complete 'Cambridge Ancient History'.

The Encyclopaedia Iranica is a multi-disciplinary reference work and research tool designed to record the facts of Iranian history and civilization. It focuses on the land, life, culture and history of all Iranian peoples and their interaction with other societies.

From the biographies of notable men and women in every field of endeavor to descriptions of all Iranian cities and monuments (ancient and modern), from oil installations to major banks, from Zoroastrian scriptures to Jewish shrines and Islamic rituals, from Persian classics to modern novels, from Iranian flora and fauna to Persian music and folklore, from philosophy and mysticism to calligraphy and architecture, all aspect of life in Iranian and related cultural areas are studied and described in articles presenting the current state of research in their texts and appended bibliographies.

As of 2023, two different online versions of the encyclopedia are being published, this one by the Encyclopædia Iranica Foundation (EIF), and another by the Ehsan Yarshater Center for Iranian Studies and Brill. The latter version includes entries from Brill's printed fascicles XVI/4 onward, which are not recognised by EIF.

The Encyclopedia of Arabic Language and Linguistics online is an essential reference work for students and researchers in the fields of linguistics, Islamic studies, Arabic literature and other related fields. It covers all relevant aspects of the study of Arabic and deals with all levels of the language (pre-Classical Arabic, Classical Arabic, Modern Standard Arabic, Arabic vernaculars, mixed varieties of Arabic).

The Encyclopaedia of Islam Online (EI Online) is a large-scale collective reference work compiled by prominent scholars, touching on all aspects of Islam from the time of the Prophet to the present day.

The Third Edition of Brill's Encyclopaedia of Islam is an entirely new work, with new articles reflecting the great diversity of current scholarship and developments in methodology. EI3 is a 'work in progress', appearing in regular installments every year. Many of its entries have been completely rewritten from previous editions. Alongside 1400 years of history, the new scope includes comprehensive coverage of Islam in the 20th and 21st Centuries, an even larger geographical scope (worldwide), a stronger focus on history, art, society, and culture, as well as Muslim minorities all over the world.

Drawing upon a rich scholarly heritage, and with nearly 1000 entries in 5 volumes, Brill's EQ is an encyclopaedic dictionary of koranic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history and exegesis, extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within koranic studies.

A bibliography of books, articles and reviews on Islam and the Muslim world. Compiled and edited by C.H. Bleaney and others and produced in the Library, School of Oriental and African Studies, London.

The International Medieval Bibliograpy (IMB) database comprises records deriving from articles published in periodicals (journals) and in miscellany volumes (conference proceedings, collected essays, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues) published world-wide. It can be searched as part of Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies.

All subjects relating to the Middle Ages are included, within the date range 300-1500 AD. Geographical areas covered are Europe, the Middle East and North Africa.

Please note that we only have a three user licence for this title so please exit when you have finished!

The most comprehensive online reference resource for all aspects of the visual arts worldwide from prehistory to the 1990s.

The Francis database is the e-version of the former hard copy publication, Bulletin Signaletique. International humanities and social sciences index to publications in western languages, including those on art and archaeology of Asia and the Islamic world. Now amalgamated with the related database, Pascal.

OCLC catalogue of books, web resources, and other material worldwide.

Contains all the records catalogued by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records. Includes records representing 400 languages. Over 95,000,000 records added since 1971.

Coverage - before 1000 BC to present, updated daily.

ARTstor is a non-profit initiative, founded by The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, with a mission to use digital technology to enhance scholarship, teaching and learning in the arts and associated fields. The ARTstor Digital Library Charter Collection is a repository of hundreds of thousands of digital images and related data and the tools to actively use those images.

The ARTstor Library is a collection of collections. It is the product of a growing number of collection development partnerships with individuals and institutions in the US and abroad. The ARTstor Library may be searched as an integrated whole or by its constituent collections.

Users of ARTstor may not use the content in ARTstor for any commercial purpose, including incorporating content in print or electronic publications distributed through a press (whether commercial or non-commercial). Additionally, users may not distribute widely ARTstor content, such as through unrestricted websites.

Bridgeman Education is an expanding resource currently comprising over 300,000 images representing objects from museums, galleries and private collections, as well as buildings and monuments. Its images cover visual culture worldwide, from pre-History to the present day. Media covered include photography, fine art, engravings, sculpture, architecture, the decorative arts, artefacts and applied arts. It addresses the interests of such disciplines as art, architecture, archaeology, anthropology, & ethnography, history, science & medicine.

All images are cleared for educational use.