Skip to Main Content

Art and Architecture: Asia

The Sackler Library is the premier research library for the study of art, architecture and archaeology at Oxford. It incorporates multiple libraries previously housed in separate locations around the University.

Key Resources

Library Catalogues

NOTE: SOLO does not include all Chinese-language titles.

Oxford Books

Oxford E-books

Other Guides to Research Resources

English Resource Guide for Japanese Studies and Humanities in Japan: Arts and Crafts
(Inter-University Research Institute Corporation: National Institutes for the Humanities, Japan)

Heidelberg University, Institut für Sinologie/ Institute of Chinese Studies
Major centre for the study of China (and also East Asia). Important library collections.
Connect HERE to Heidelberg's East Asian Library.

Oxford Libraries

Materials relating to the study of the art & archaeology of Asia are collected primarily in support of the research & teaching activities of Oxford museum curators and faculty.

Principal Asian geographic areas of collecting

  • China
  • India
  • Japan

Other Asian geographic areas collected

  • Central Asia
  • Inner Asia
  • Korea
  • South Asia
  • South East Asia
  • Tibet

Library collections

Major collection for the art & archaeology of Asia

  • Sackler Library
    Holdings on Asian art & archaeology are principally located in the Sackler's Eastern Art collection (Floor 3).
    Older materials are an amalgam of collections from the Ashmolean Museum's Eastern Art Department, the Bodleian Library & Oriental Institute Library. These are shelved in the "Old Classification Sequence".
    More recently-acquired materials are purchased direct by the Sackler or are selected from the Copyright Receipt Office intake of legal deposit publications. These are shelved in the Library of Congress Classification Sequence.
    Works are collected in all relevant languages, in particular: English & other Western European languages, Chinese, Japanese and, to a lesser extent, Korean.

Other significant library collections

Online Catalogues and Citation, Full-text & Image Databases

Bibliography (text-based information)

Dictionaries

Images