Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library..
The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford University's online resource discovery tool. For those wishing to learn more about usingsearches, we recommend the following:
The Law Bod shelves its collection books for individual European (members of EU or EEA) jurisdictions on Level 3, one floor above the entrance level to the library. Other jurisdictions eg Ukraine are on Level 1, one floor below the entrance level.
On both floors, the arrangement is alphabetical, by the English name of the jurisdiction. There is no further subject arrangement within each jurisdiction's collection, the books are arranged by the last name of the author or editor.
Depth of coverage varies considerably: you may well discover that for some countries the collection has an historic rather than a current emphasis.
The majority of the Law Library's books in this section will be in the language(s) of the jurisdiction.
Judicial Review in Norway a bicentennial debate by On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning General.
This is where you will find comparative studies, and works surveying the response to legal problems in two or more jurisdictions.
The collection is not divided by subject, but arranged by the name of author or editor.
Comparative Succession Law by If you are interested in comparative studies, there is a separate guide which might be helpful
On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Jurisp (short for jurisprudence) where we shelve books on legal philosophy and theory. Within this section the books are arranged by the last name of author or editor.
As the Law Library moves to the Moys Classification Scheme, you may find legal philosophy books with shelf marks beginning KA .
KA titles are probably described on SOLO as being in the Law Reserve Collection. Please ask for these books at the Law Enquiry Desk - and remember to bring your University or Bodleian Reader's card with you, as these heavily used titles are issued to you for use in the Library. You can keep reading them for the rest of day if you like - but we do ask that you return them to the Enquiry Desk as soon as possible after you have finished consulting them.
KA books not held in the Law Reserve collection are on Level 2 - but a few shelves away from those with shelf marks beginning Jurisp.
The Enquiry Desk on Level 2 is also the place to come if you are having any difficulties finding the books you need: we will be happy to help!
General Theory of Norms by Looking for a Reading List title?
The most heavily used Reading Lists books on European Union can be found on Level 2 in the Law Reserve Collection. Note that the EU law books in this collection have shelf marks beginning KW. If you need or would like to read one of these books, please come to the Enquiry Desk with your University or Bodleian Reader's Card and ask for it there.
Major collection of EU law books
On Level 3, one floor above the entrance level to the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Euro Comm. This is where you will find the majority of commentary on European Union law, and its adoption by member states.
This section is not further subdivided by topic/subject, but arranged alphabetically by the last name of author or editor.
On Level 3, one floor above the entrance level to the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Internat (short for public international law).
The shelf mark
Internat 570 gathers together all works on international human rights
Internat 575 is where you will find commentary on the European Court of Human Rights
The European Convention on Human Rights : A Commentary by 
The Construction of Fatherhood : the jurisprudence of the European Court of Human Rights by 
Right to a Fair Trial : a practical guide to the Article 6 case-law of the European Court of Human Rights by