Oxford LibGuides: European &amp; Scandinavian/Nordic countries: legal resources: Cases

Multi-jurisdictional Searches

Decisions of Supreme Courts of European Jurisdictions

Common portal of [supreme court] case law
Maintained by the Network of the Presidents of the European Supreme Courts. By selecting your own language as the search language (click on the appropriate abbreviation running across the top of the web page), and then setting the Search Engine appropriately via the modify the selection link in right hand column (ie selecting up to a maximum of 5 supreme courts so their flags show) you can do a single court or similtaneous search.

As it is free, please do not expect great speed... or functionality. But it should give you at least citation which you may be able to take elsewhere...

ECLI Search Engine

European Case Law Identifier (ECLI) search engine
Free For the time being, the search engine provides access to close to 4 million case law decisions from the Court of Justice of the European Union, the European Patent Office, France, Spain, the Netherlands, Slovenia, Germany, the Czech Republic and Finland.

The ECLI Search Engine will gradually be improved in terms of coverage in parallel with the adoption of the ECLI standard throughout the EU.

Eurotort gathers together leading decisions in tort law from 30 European jurisdictions, searchable by jurisdiction, time period, keywords, full text, or a combination thereof. The cases have been selected by experts from each respective jurisdiction, who have also drafted the English texts presenting the facts of the case and an abstract of the decision

EuroTort
- This link opens in a new window
Extra username and password are required for this resource. See Username and password webpage for details
A database of leading decisions in tort law from 30 European jurisdictions, searchable by jurisdiction, time period, keywords, full text, or a combination thereof. The cases have been selected by experts from each respective jurisdiction, who have also drafted the English texts presenting the facts of the case and an abstract of the decision The materials stem from cases reported in the “Tort and Insurance Law Yearbook” series, co-published by the European Centre of Tort and Insurance Law (ECTIL) and the Institute for European Tort Law of the Austrian Academy of Sciences, as well as in the “Digest of European Tort Law” series of the latter institution. Coverage starts from 1980s: further additions are made annually.

Jurisdiction based information

For information based on each jurisdiction, and links to sources of case law, please use the pages under the Jurisdictions tab

ECLI

European Case Law Identifier (ECLI)
Free resource. Click on the national flag of the jurisdiction to get further details as to if/when and how the country has already adopted or proposes to adopt the ECLI.

ECLI is a uniform identifier (neutral citation system) that has the same recognizable format for all Member States and EU courts. It is composed of five, mandatory, elements:

‘ECLI’: to identify the identifier as being a European Case Law Identifier;
the country code;
the code of the court that rendered the judgment;
the year the judgment was rendered;
an ordinal number, up to 25 alphanumeric characters, in a format that is decided upon by each Member State. Dots are allowed, but not other punctuation marks.

The elements are separated by a colon. For example, 2009 decisions of the Hoge Raad (Supreme Court of the Netherlands) would start:

ECLI:NL:HR:2009: