Skip to main content

Politics and International Relations: Getting Started

How to find ...

Politics & IR Collections

Main collections

The principal library for taught course provision for politics & international relations, along with new research material, contemporary works (including legal deposit), and the core journal collections in politics, international relations and related subjects.

Associated collections

The Modern Papers Section in the Weston Library

holds special collections including the Conservative Party Archive and the papers of key 20th Century political figures. The Bodleian Law Library is also home to the Official Papers Section which holds both British official papers and the publications of international agencies.The Bodleian Libraries include various specialist area studies libraries and collections, whilst works relating to pre-1945 international relations can be found in the History Faculty Library.

The largest social science library outside of the Bodleian Libraries and holds politics and international relations collections relating to the interests of College members since 1937.

If you wish to ask a question or seek more help then please contact the Bodleian Social Science Library, or Jo Gardner direct.

The latest print and digital resources in Poltics and International Relations purchased by the Bodleian Social Science library.

Trial resources

Trial access to two databases from Gale Cengage until 31 October 2018.

Chatham House Online Archive 1920-2008

A searchable online database covering 88 years of the institute’s expert analysis and commentary on international policy. Chatham House, the Royal Institute of International Affairs, is an independent policy institute based in London where world leaders and policy-makers are invited to discuss their views in an impartial environment. The online archive includes briefing papers, special reports, pamphlets, conference papers, monographs, as well as the audio recordings of Chatham House lectures and their fully searchable transcripts.

Political Extremism and Radicalism in the 20th Century

An online archive of briefing papers, reports, pamphlets and other publications from various Far-Right and Far-Left Political Groups in the US, Europe and Australia. Having this primary source material all together in one searchable database enables researches to explore the origins and development of present-day issues, including the resurgence of right-wing politics, evolution of various civil rights movements and the nature of radical political thought.

Please send your feedback about these online archives to Jo Gardner: Are they useful to you, would you recommend them, do they offer you anything new?