Skip to main content

Caribbean Studies: Getting started

The Caribbean Studies page aim is to offer information on this subject to researchers and students. Different types of resources including books, journals, theses and films can be accessed from this page.

LibGuide to Caribbean Studies

This 'Getting Started' page gives you links to key resources and information for Caribbean Studies on history, politics and economics. The tabs above lead to more in-depth information about different types of resources including books, journals, theses, film and news.

The main Oxford libraries for Caribbean Studies are the  Bodleian Latin American Centre Library and the Bodleian Library.

This LibGuide does not cover Caribbean Literature collections that are held on the  Taylor Institution Library and the English Faculty Library.

The links on the right-hand side provide library and contact information for Rebeca Otazua , Senior Library Assistant.  You may also contact Frank Egerton, Librarian and Subject Consultant (Latin American History and Social Sciences), for subject enquiries.

 

How to find things

Search Oxford Libraries Online (SOLO) to find books, grey literature and journal titles.

Use Oxford LibGuides: Databases A-Z to search bibliographic databases/online resources.

Libraries and collections at Oxford

The following libraries hold titles on Caribbean studies:

Bodleian Library

Bodleian Latin American Centre Library

Bodleian Law Library

History Faculty Library

Oxford University Colleges collections:

David Nicholls Memorial Trust at Regent's Park College: it houses a large Caribbean book collection and offers awards for postgraduate research in Caribbean Studies.

The Pembroke Bermuda Collection at Pembroke College.

Remote access

Ways to access subscription resources off campus:

  1. Single Sign-On (SSO). Sign on to SOLO or your University email and your browser retains the sign on. This allows you to access most e-resources as if you were on campus. 
  2. VPN (Virtual Private Network). Register with OUCS to log on to the network via VPN. Once logged on you can access all e-resources as if you were on campus.

For further information see the Bodleian Libraries remote access guide.

Senior Library Assistant

Rebeca Otazua's picture
Rebeca Otazua
Contact:
Bodleian Latin American Centre Library
1 Church Walk
Oxford
OX2 6LY
01865 2 74483

External readers

If you are not a member of the University you will need to apply for a reader's ticket from the Bodleian Libraries Admissions office.