Oxford LibGuides: Data and Statistics for Social Sciences: Energy & Environment

Energy and environment: global data

Climatic Research Unit (CRU)
Official webpage for a leading institution concerned with the study of natural and anthropogenic climate change. The Climatic Research Unit is based at the University of East Anglia (UEA) and has an online library of related data collections.
more...less...
Topics include Temperature, Precipitation, Drought Indices, UK Climate, Mediterranean Climate, Alpine Climate Data and dedicated subsets for Japan, Greenland and the Falklands.
The IEA Clean Coal Centre
Maintains a number of free to view databases on all aspects of clean coal technologies and their use.
more...less...
Coal Online
A searchable encyclopaedia of coal compiled from reports published by the IEA Clean Coal Centre.
Clean Coal Technologies
A fully searchable database holds accurate, yet brief, descriptions of the many clean coal technologies and so it is a useful reference tool.
Emission Standards
The standards relevant to coal combustion are reported for each country or region listed.
International Energy Agency data and statistics
The agency's work spans a variety of programmes and initiatives, helping ensure energy security, tracking clean energy transitions, collecting data, or providing training around the world
more...less...
Energy balance flows ♦ Energy atlas ♦ European gas trade flows ♦ Key World Energy Statistics
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change Data Distribution Centre (IPCC DDC)
The DDC provides climate, socio-economic and environmental data, both from the past and also in scenarios projected into the future.
more...less...
The DDC is designed primarily for climate change researchers, but materials contained on the site may also be of interest to educators, governmental and non-governmental organisations, and the general public.
Emission Factor Database (EFDB)
Contains information on emission factors and other parameters with background documentation or technical references.
more...less...
A project supported by NGGIP (National Greenhouse Gas Inventories Programme) and managed by the IPCC's Task Force on National Greenhouse Gas Inventories (TFI).
Note: The responsibility of using this information appropriately will always remain with the users themselves.
UKDS Environment and energy data
Contains datasets within the theme of environment and energy.
UNData
Environment: Environment Statistics Database; Greenhouse Gas Inventory Data; World Meteorological Organization Standard Normals
Energy: Energy statistics database
UN Statistics Division (UNSD) Environmental Indicators
A collection of global environment statistics on ten indicator themes compiled from a wide range of data sources. The themes and indicator tables were selected based on the current demands for international environmental statistics and the availability of internationally comparable data.

DECC : National statistics

GOV.UK: Energy & Climate Change Statistics
Ofgem: data portal
Energy data and research publications.
ONS Environmental accounts
Show how the environment contributes to the economy, the impacts that the economy has on the environment, and how society responds to environmental issues.
more...less...
Earlier releases were moved to the National Archives website.

Energy news and more

Energy Live news
The UK’s dedicated daily news site covering energy.

Data and Statistics for Social Sciences: Energy & Environment

Energy and environment: global data

DECC : National statistics

Energy news and more

BBC news: Science&Environment