Bible Studies: Books

The Bodleian Libraries have access to over 2,000 e-books on the Bloomsbury Collections platform, including research publications in the following series and subject areas: Ancient Commentators on Aristotle; Ancient Philosophy; Applied Linguistics; Biblical Studies; C.H. Beck · Hart · Nomos; Christian Doctrines; Christology; Classical Literature; Classical Studies & Archaeology; Competition Law; Constitutional and Administrative Law; Continental Philosophy; Criminal Law and Justice; Economics; Education Around the World; Family and Social Law; Hart Publishing; History; History of the Transatlantic Slave Trade Landmark Texts; Intellectual Property Law; International Critical Commentary; International Relations; Legal Philosophy; Literary Criticism; Middle East; Pauline Studies; Philosophy; Religious Studies; Second Language Acquisition; Theology; Zed Books Sexuality and Gender Studies Archive; Zed Books Economics Archive; Zed Books Sexuality and Gender Studies 2017-2020.

Please note we do not have access to all books on this platform.

Cambridge Collections Online offers subject or theme based collections of content within a richly functional, fully cross-searchable online environment. The Complete Cambridge Companions is available as a complete collection and as two sub-collections comprising the Cambridge Companions in Literature and Classics and the Cambridge Companions in Philosophy, Religion and Culture. Each collection is updated with new Companions on publication.

CHO is a digital collection of 250+ titles published since 1960 as part of the Cambridge Histories series. The collection presents an authoritative reference compendium for histories of many countries (e.g. Britain, Europe, US, Middle East, Far East, Latin America) and over 15 academic subjects (e.g. Classics, History, History of Science, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Religion).

The resource includes personalisation features, such as saved searches, workspaces and bookmarks, and citation export functionality.

Contains the complete 'Cambridge Ancient History'.

Ebsco's ebook collection is a collection of e-books purchased by Oxford librarians. Currently there are over 2,000 purchased books ('Our Collection') as well as over 3000 free e-books.

Access to each e-book is limited to one or, more commonly, two simultaneous users, depending on the individual book licence.

New books are being purchased on a regular basis.

Deatils on accessing the ebooks on this platform are at: http://ox.libguides.com/ld.php?content_id=19854712.

JSTOR is a not-for-profit organization with a dual mission to create and maintain a trusted archive of important scholarly journals, and to provide access to these journals as widely as possible. JSTOR offers researchers the ability to retrieve high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. The journals archived in JSTOR span many disciplines.

Originally conceived as a project at The Andrew W. Mellon Foundation, JSTOR began as an effort to ease the increasing problems faced by libraries seeking to provide adequate shelf space for the long runs of backfiles of scholarly journals. JSTOR is not a current issues database. Because of JSTOR's archival mission, there is a gap, typically from 1 to 5 years, between the most recently published journal issue and the back issues available in JSTOR.

The world's leading database for Latin texts. It contains texts from the beginning of Latin literature (Livius Andronicus, 240 BC) through to the texts of the Second Vatican Council (1962-1965). It covers all the works from the classical period, the most important patristic works, a very extensive corpus of Medieval Latin literature as well as works of recentior latinitas including texts from the Reformation and Counter-Reformation. The complete works of writers such as Cicero, Virgil, Augustine, Jerome, Gregory the Great, Anselm of Canterbury, Bernard of Clairvaux and Thomas Kempis can thus be consulted. The texts have been taken from the Corpus Christianorum series and from many other leading editions.

Contains scholarly books, published by Oxford University Press, in the humanities, sciences, medicine and social sciences online. The full texts of over 21,000 key Oxford titles in Biology, History, Mathematics, Philosophy, Public Health and Epidemiology, Business and Management, Law, Music, Physics, Religion, Classical Studies, Linguistics, Neuroscience, Political Science, Social Work, Economics and Finance, Literature, Palliative Care, Psychology and Sociology are now available - together with specially-commissioned book and chapter abstracts and keywords. Books are added continuously as part of our subscription.

Past Masters is a collection of primary-source full-text humanities databases. Past Masters titles are usually comprised of the complete works of individual authors.

A librarian-selected package of eBooks from the publisher Taylor & Francis, with titles in the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Behavioural Sciences, Built Environment and Law. When browsing the site, filter contents to “Full access content only”.

Oxford Academic includes over 40,000 academic ebooks from Oxford University Press and other university presses, including:

• American University in Cairo Press
• British Academy
• University of California Press
• University of Chicago Press
• Columbia University Press
• Cornell University Press
• Edinburgh University Press
• University Press of Florida
• Fordham University Press
• University of Hawai‘i Press
• Hong Kong University Press
• University of Illinois Press
• University Press of Kentucky
• Liverpool University Press
• Manchester University Press
• University of Minnesota Press
• University Press of Mississippi
• MIT Press
• University of North Carolina Press
• NYU Press
• Policy Press
• Princeton University Press
• Stanford University Press
• Yale University Press

Includes medical ebooks previously available through the Oxford Medicine Online platform. To access medicine content, select "Subject" -> "Medicine and Health".

The Catholic Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive resource on Catholic teaching, history, and information ever gathered in all of human history. This easy-to-search online version was originally printed in fifteen hardcopy volumes.

Designed to present its readers with the full body of Catholic teaching, the Encyclopedia contains not only precise statements of what the Church has defined, but also an impartial record of different views of acknowledged authority on all disputed questions, national, political or factional. In the determination of the truth the most recent and acknowledged scientific methods are employed, and the results of the latest research in theology, philosophy, history, apologetics, archaeology, and other sciences are given careful consideration.

No one who is interested in human history, past and present, can ignore the Catholic Church, either as an institution which has been the central figure in the civilized world for nearly two thousand years, decisively affecting its destinies, religious, literary, scientific, social and political, or as an existing power whose influence and activity extend to every part of the globe. In the past century the Church has grown both extensively and intensively among English-speaking peoples. Their living interests demand that they should have the means of informing themselves about this vast institution, which, whether they are Catholics or not, affects their fortunes and their destiny.

The Coptic Gnostic Library - A Complete Edition of the Nag Hammadi Codices - continues where the Dead Sea Scrolls left off. The Coptic Gnostic Library” is a complete edition of the Nag Hammadi Codices, of Papyrus Berolinensis 8502, and of the Askew and Bruce Codices, comprising a critical text with English translations, introductions, notes and indices. Its aim is to present these texts in a uniform edition

In order to view the contents, it is advised to install the Unicode font Antinoou.

Click the "Enter databases" button when you get there.

The purpose of this Database of Latin Dictionaries is to produce for scholars and students an online database comprising a large number of Latin dictionaries. The database will: continue to grow gradually and will comprise three kinds of dictionaries:

* dictionaries to assist translation from Latin into modern languages

* dictionaries providing semantic and etymological explanations in Latin of Latin words

* historical Latin dictionaries.

The aim of the database is not only to integrate different types of Latin dictionaries, whether modern, medieval or early-modern, but also to build in links between these different tools.

Please note that we only have a three user licence for the online version so please exit when you have finished!

The Brill Dictionary of Religion (BDR) is a multi-media reference work with more than 500 entries covering the many and various forms of religious commitment. It not only addresses the different theologies and doctrinal declarations of the official institutionalized religions but also gives equal weight and consideration to a multiplicity of other religious phenomena.

The Brill Dictionary of Religion is a thoroughly revised version of the German Metzler Lexikon Religion: Gegenwart, Alltag, Medien (4 vols., Stuttgart/Weimar: J. B. Metzler 1999-2002), edited by Christoph Auffarth, Jutta Bernard, and Hubert Mohr.

Includes an index of scriptural quotations.

The Dictionnaire d'histoire et de géographie ecclésiastiques (DHGE) is an unparalleled source of information for anyone interested in the history of the Church: it comprises 70,000 entries by specialists, and enrichment with more than 2200 biographical notes on bishops. The bibliography of the Revue d’histoire ecclesiastique (RHE) is the perfect complement to the encyclopaedic information in the DHGE, with over 120,000 bibliographical records. These are now part of the Index Religiosus.

Updated edition of this lauded work on Judaism features more than 21,000 entries on Jewish life, culture, history, and religion, written by Israeli, American and European subject specialists.

Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures.

Click on "Gale Virtual Reference Library" when you get there.

The second edition of a resource that is considered a standard reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600 entirely new articles have been added by an international team of scholars and contributors.

The Encyclopedia of the Bible and Its Reception is a resource tool for scholars in biblical studies and related fields. It encompasses the current knowledge of the origins and development of the Bible in its Jewish and Christian canonical forms. It documents the history of the Bible’s reception in exegetical literature, theological and philosophical writings of various genres, literature, liturgy, music, the visual arts, dance, and film, in the Christian churches and the Jewish Diaspora, as well as in Islam and other religious traditions and contemporary movements. The online EBR contains all articles from the 20+ volumes of the print edition, as well as articles that have not yet appeared in print.

This website contains the complete contents of the 12-volume Jewish Encyclopedia, which was originally published between 1901-1906. The Jewish Encyclopedia, which recently became part of the public domain, contains over 15,000 articles and illustrations.

This online version contains the unedited contents of the original encyclopedia. Since the original work was completed almost 100 years ago, it does not cover a significant portion of modern Jewish History (e.g., the creation of Israel, the Holocaust, etc.). However, it does contain an incredible amount of information that is remarkably relevant today.

As an authoritative one-volume guide to all aspects of the ancient world, OCD has no competitor in any language. At one and the same time it offers, across the whole range of the study of the ancient world, both information presented in a form accessible to non-specialists and factual material and bibliographies detailed and specific enough to be valuable to the professional reader. No other single-volume work of reference remotely approaches OCD in the sheer quality of factual detail contained.

The new and largely rewritten edition gathers 6,250 contributions written by an international team of 364 scholars between 1991 and 1994.

Oxford Reference Online brings together over 450 reference works published by Oxford University Press into a single cross-searchable resource. It includes English and bilingual dictionaries, English grammar and usage guides, quotations and subject-specific reference works.

It is updated regularly with new titles, new editions, new entries, full-colour maps and illustrations, timelines, weblinks, and bibliographies.

Religion Past and Present (RPP) Online is the online version of the updated English translation of the 4th edition of the well-known German encyclopedia Religion in Geschichte und Gegenwart (RGG), which has been a standard reference work since the publication of the first edition in 1908. Strongly international, cross-cultural and ecumenical, written by over 3,000 authors from 88 countries, the articles cover a wide range of topics from history, archaeology, liturgy, law, bible, music, visual arts, politics, social sciences, natural sciences, ethics, and philosophy.

The TLGTM Digital Library now contains virtually all ancient Greek texts surviving from the period between Homer (8th century B.C.) and A.D. 600, and a large number of texts deriving from the period between A.D. 600 and 1453, in excess of 80 million words.

In addition to its extensive collection of texts, the TLG has compiled the Canon of Greek Authors and Works, a comprehensive database of all known ancient Greek and Byzantine authors, together with bibliographies of existing critical editions of their extant works.

The new digital online versions of the Thesaurus linguae Latinae (TLL) and the Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL) replace the former CD-Rom versions of BTL 4 and TLL 5. They offer both an extension of the data, and a fundamentally remodelled user interface, which – for the first time – allows to search both databases (if you have subscribed to the combined product of BTL + TLL online). The user interface is largely self-explanatory. The help function offers support with special queries of the application. Additionally, an extensive introduction to the Thesaurus linguae Latinae is offered in its Praemonenda, to be found at the beginning of its table of contents.

The Bibliotheca Teubneriana Latina (BTL) online comprises the data of BTL 4, supplemented by the texts of all Latin editions of the Bibliotheca Scriptorum Graecorum et Romanorum Teubneriana printed by 2008. This means that formerly omitted texts from BT editions of the 19th and 20th centuries are now included, especially those of scholia and grammarians. The extension ranges around 1 million word forms, so that the BTL Online now includes approximately 13 million word forms in total.

The data of Thesaurus linguae Latinae (TLL) Online has been enlarged by the fascicles published in 2007 and 2008 and now comprises the letters A–M, O, P–pomifer, porta–pulsio.