Oxford LibGuides: Bible Studies: Online Resources

Free online resources

OERs are any type of teaching and/or learning materials that are freely available in the public domain, published under open licenses. Those listed below are applicable to Bible Studies.

open.conted
The gateway to Open Educational Resources and other freely available resources created or selected by tutors of the University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education.
Open Culture
An aggregator of free, downloadable religion courses from the world's leading universities.

On Script
This podcast series covers conversation relating to current biblical scholarship.
Oxford University Open Podcasts: Theology and Religion
Podcasts from Oxford's Faculty of Theology and Religion. It is the largest in the country and home to many scholars of international distinction.

British Library: Discovering Sacred Texts
Discovering Sacred Texts provides access to the richness and diversity of the texts from some of the world’s greatest faiths. Discover more about the sacred texts from Buddhism, Christianity, Hinduism, Islam, Judaism, Sikhism and the Baha’i Faith, Jainism and Zoroastrianism.
British Library Treasures
From the Lindisfarne Gospels and Magna Carta to Shakespeare’s First Folio, this website gives you a peek into the wonders of the BL's vast collection.
Digital.Bodleian
The Bodleian Libraries care for over one million manuscripts, archives, rare books, printed ephemera and maps. Discover more about these treasures here.
Early Jewish Writings
This site contains a collection of Jewish documents from antiquity with translations, introductions, and links.
Internet Ancient History Sourcebook
The Internet History Sourcebooks Project is a collection of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts presented cleanly (without advertising or excessive layout) for educational use. Primary sources are available here primarily for use in high-school and university/college courses.
The Parker Library on the Web
A digital exhibit designed to support use and study of the manuscripts in the historic Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge.
UPenn/Cambridge Genizah Project
This project aims to digitise and catalogue the fragments of the Cairo Genizah housed at Cambridge and Penn Universities. Browse and detailed search available.
World Digital Library
A digital library of primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.

Bible Odyssey
Free online Bible encyclopedia created by the Society of Biblical Literature featuring photographs, artworks, videos, essays, maps, timelines, interactive games, multiple texts of the Bible, and the HarperCollins Bible Dictionary (condensed edition).

Faculty of Theology and Religion Youtube Channel
The official Youtube channel of Oxford University's Faculty of Theology and Religion.

The Ancient World Online (AWOL)
AWOL is a project of Charles E. Jones, Tombros Librarian for Classics and Humanities at the Pattee Library, Penn State University. The primary focus of the project is notice and comment on open access material relating to the ancient world, but it also includes other kinds of networked information as it comes available.
Curious Minds
Compiled by academics and staff of the University of Oxford Department for Continuing Education in response to COVID-19, these freely available educational resources will help entertain you during challenging times.
Religion Online
Religion Online is designed to assist teachers, scholars and general "seekers" who are interested in exploring religious issues. The aim is to develop an extensive library of resources, representing many different points of view, but all written from the perspective of sound scholarship.
Websites on Religion
The Atla Websites on Religion LibGuide is a growing, selective, annotated collection of web resources for the study of religion.

Useful links

The Bodleian Libraries
Twenty-eight libraries across Oxford, including the central University library.
NT @ Oxford
A website for New Testament studies at Oxford that offers information about programmes at the Faculty of Theology and Religion, important events and updates, teaching resources and people (including current doctoral students), as well as links to various online research tools and resources.
University of Oxford Faculty of Theology and Religion
The University of Oxford's Faculty of Theology and Religion is the largest in the country and home to many scholars of international distinction. At the heart of the Faculty are those who hold full-time permanent positions and who have a particular responsibility for teaching, research and the delivery of the syllabus, as well as academic leadership.
University of Oxford IT Services
Providing IT Services for staff, students and academics.

Disclaimer

Note that you use all content at your own risk and we accept no responsibility for the content of external websites. Examples provided on this page are subject to third party terms and conditions. Links do not represent endorsements.

Bible Studies: Online Resources

Online resources

Free online resources

Useful links

Disclaimer