Bibliographic databases are a powerful tool for finding scholarly literature, like journal articles, in your subject area. They are useful when you want to start exploring beyond your reading list or are researching a new topic. Experts in your subject area select key content to be included in databases, so you can be confident of its quality. Some databases will have full-text access, which means you can read the whole item (like an article or book chapter) on the database. Other databases offer 'indexing' or 'abstracting' services, which means they give an overview of the item, like title, author, year of publication and a summary of the research.
Oxford subscribes to lots of databases that you can use for free. They can be accessed through SOLO or Databases A-Z. SOLO allows you to search all material in the libraries at the University, including databases. Databases A-Z allows you to to explore databases alone, without the distraction of other items like books popping up in the results.
If you are new to SOLO we recommend visiting the 'How to' guides at the link below.
Below you will find a few popular databases used for the study of Bible Studies. It is recommended that you engage with databases relevant to your subject so that you become familiar with the different features offered. Such features include:
In addition to Oxford's subscription databases, there are a number of free online resources to support Bible Studies, many of which are listed in Databases A-Z (look for the 
icon).
A guided tour of OBSO is available at:
Why not watch a video form the Take a Tour pages to see Oxford Bibliographies in action or take a look at our PDF below to find out how to use this resource.
Information on using STEP is available at the link below:
If there is an eresource useful to your work that Oxford does not subscribe to, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Single-Sign On required).