Oxford LibGuides: Case law: online resources for common law countries: Singapore

Unlocking citations

Neutral citations you may encounter -
SGCA – Singapore Court of Appeal
SGHC – Singapore High Court

Law Report Citations

Singapore Law Reports SLR Singapore Law Reports (Reissue), cited SLR(R),
In 2010 volumes called were published "with re-written headnotes for the reports from 1965–2009, and re-edited judgment texts, that conforms to the SAL house-style." Since the Singapore Supreme Court Practice Direction No.4 of 2009 the preferred law report series for citing cases decided between 1965 and 2009 has been the SLR(R) in court.
The Law Bod' only has the Singapore Law Reports for 1965-2009.

Singapore Legal Abbreviations
Available on libguide form the National University of Singapore, C.J. Koh Law Library website. List of abbreviations and corresponding titles for law reports and journals published in Singapore, Malaysia and Brunei:
Singapore Academy of Law Style Guide.
Available as download from the SMU School of Law Library guide

Singapore cases

vLex Justis
Singapore Law Reports (SLR) and transcript
vLex Justis offers access to a range of law reports, transcripts and legislation from the UK, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, the Caribbean, and the EU. For UK case research it has extensive information relating to where cases have been cited, etc including a precedent map.

In addition it includes the full text of the following: Aspinall's Maritime Law Cases, English Reports, State Trials, CCH Tax Cases, Immigration Appeal Reports, Inquest Law Reports, Mental Health Reports, Session Cases Archive, Irish Reports & Digest, Jersey Law Reports, Bermuda Law Reports, Cayman Islands Law Reports, The Singapore Law Reports, and the International Law Reports. Also included in the service is Justis Human Rights.

To access personalisation features please set up an individual profile on the platform using a unique id and password.

Please note that apart from the titles listed above, vLex Justis includes some abstracted materials for which you will need to refer to other online services or hard copy to obtain the full text.

vLex Justis includes content formerly available via JustisOne.

Singapore Academy of Law Annual Review of Singapore Cases 2000- [2 year delay]
Requires Oxford SSO for remote access. The Singapore Academy of Law Annual Review of Singapore Cases evaluated leading cases and decisions of the Singapore courts in the preceding year.

Manupatra
- This link opens in a new window
Extra username and password are required for this resource.

See Username and password webpage for details
Alternative name: Manupatra - Indian Law and Business

Indian legal and business information.
Please use one username and password set from the options. If it does not work please try the other. Each allows single user access only - so please remember to log off properly when you have finished your session in Manupatra.

Singapore Courts
Official website includes searchable database of Judgments and case summaries (Written decisions of cases heard in court and selected case summaries of these decisions). Case briefs by the Singapore Management University, Selected Court of Appeal judgments reported by students from the Singapore Management University School of Law,
Brief remarks made by the court in delivering its decision orally, Family Justice Courts Case Highlights (ie selected decisions)
Singapore Law Watch: Judgments
Free resource SC/CA/HC/IPOS/PDPC transcript are organised according to decision date. Supreme Court & High Court judgments from 2000 and Intellectual Property Office of Singapore and Personal Data Protection Commission decisions from 2018 onwards are archived on SLW permanently.
Singapore case law via CommonLII
Includes database of Court of Appeal, High Court, District Court and Magistrates' Court decisions. Note non earlier than 2005

Printed resources to be found on Level 1 of the Bodleian Law Library

Colony of Singapore Law Reports (1946-1949,1953-1956) Cw Sing 100

The Singapore Law Reports (1992-present) Cw Sing 105

The Singapore Law Reports (1946-49, 53-56) Cw Malay Sing 100

Straits Settlements Law Reports [c1893-1941/42] Cw Malay Str Sett 130

Taking research in Singaporean law further?

This other Law Bod Libguide may help!

Singapore : legal resources
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Aug 19, 2024 1199 views this year