Free resource. Provides guidance on the citation of all major New Zealand legal journals and law reporting series. More than 120 law journals and law reporting series are searchable by either title or abbreviation. Examples of citations provided for all entries are in accordance with the New Zealand Law Style Guide.
The Index has been compiled by Mary-Rose Russell, formerly at the Davis Law Library at the University of Auckland.
Navigate via Sources - International Content to find NZ cases or secondary materials. New Zealand Law Reports and District Court Reports, NZ Administrative Law Reports, NZ Family Law Reports and NZ Resource Management Appeals. Also transcripts/unreported judgments from wide range of NZ courts.
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International
Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included.
Collects transcripts of NZ judgments. Best strategy is to click Advanced Search in LH column - Click link Select more jurisdictions - make sure only New Zealand is selected (ticked). Click Apply. On search screen click the Case law button and more boxes will be added to the search screen for eg citation searching.
vLex Justis offers access to a range of law reports, transcripts and legislation from the UK, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, the Caribbean, and the EU. For UK case research it has extensive information relating to where cases have been cited, etc including a precedent map.
In addition it includes the full text of the following: Aspinall's Maritime Law Cases, English Reports, State Trials, CCH Tax Cases, Immigration Appeal Reports, Inquest Law Reports, Mental Health Reports, Session Cases Archive, Irish Reports & Digest, Jersey Law Reports, Bermuda Law Reports, Cayman Islands Law Reports, The Singapore Law Reports, and the International Law Reports. Also included in the service is Justis Human Rights.
To access personalisation features please set up an individual profile on the platform using a unique id and password.
Please note that apart from the titles listed above, vLex Justis includes some abstracted materials for which you will need to refer to other online services or hard copy to obtain the full text.
vLex Justis includes content formerly available via JustisOne.
A searchable database of judgments and decisions made available after delivery to the parties but no earlier than three days after the decisions are given. Coverage
* Supreme Court (all)
* Court of Appeal (all cases from 2003)
* High Court (all cases from 2005)
Free resource. Part of Victoria University Of Wellington site ."The New Zealand's Lost Cases project involves the systematic search for, and collation of, early New Zealand cases. These cases exist, not in law reports, but in newspapers, manuscript collections, archives and judges� notebooks. Many of these cases have been simply forgotten. While New Zealand had comparatively good early law reporting, only a selection of cases were formally reported. The project is primarily concerned with decisions of the Supreme Court and Court of Appeal up until 1883 and the Native Land Court, 1863-1895. We have currently entered all Supreme Court and Court of Appeal cases for the period 1842-1869.
There are two searchable databases - the Source Database which shows where court records can be found around New Zealand for the period 1840-1883 and the Case Database that provides a record of all cases heard by the Supreme Court and Court of Appeal in the period 1842-1869.
The project website also includes a series of relevant Ordinances and Acts from the 1840s and 1850s. These are available for download in PDF.
A number of articles and chapters containing material uncovered by the Lost Cases project have now been been published. A list of this work, along with relevant conference papers and postgraduate work are available here.
New Zealand's Lost Cases Project is funded by the New Zealand Law Foundation. The Project is also overseen by a Reference Group, composed of eminent persons from New Zealand and overseas."
LawCite is being built as part of a three year project that is funded by the Australian Research Council in co-operation with a number of Australian courts and other commercial and non-commercial organisations. It is being developed at AustLII in collaboration with other members of the Free Access to Law Movement - in particular BAILII , HKLII , PacLII , SAFLII , NZLII and CYLAW. Particularly strong for common law countries, but the civil law dimension is growing
OSCOLA: Oxford University Standard for Citation of Legal Authorities by 