Oxford LibGuides: Case law: online resources for common law countries: Latest UK/EW cases

Case law current awareness and alert services

Westlaw Edge UK
Offers the Lawtel service. Click last link on ribbon of options on blue banner. Includes facility to set up an alert to your Oxford email
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK

Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Coverage:
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.
Lexis+ UK
The Alert feature (Bell icon) offers you the ability to create alerts based on search terms or sources. Alerts run continuously checking for new material added online. When new content is added that meets your search criteria, you can choose to receive notifications of new material.
For online access from a device outside the University network or via eduroam, please follow https://plus.lexis.com/uk/xhome?federationidp=RXVSX459307
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included
ICLR Case Reports
Anyone can also sign up for free personal email or RSS alerting services from ICLR : summaries of most recent transcripts or latest published case reports.
Contains The Law Reports, Weekly Law Reports, Industrial Case Reports and Business Law Reports published by the Incorporated Council of Law Reporting.

The following sources are available to all with access to the internet

ICLR Blog Weekly Notes
This section of the Blog rounds up the previous week's most striking developments, judgments of course included.

Find Case Law - Judgments and decisions from 2003 onwards
The most recent judgments are listed on the home page
Free access to judgments and decisions of United Kingdom courts and tribunals. As of June 2023 coverage is of decisions from the superior courts of record – the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal, the High Court, and the Upper Tribunals – and from 2003 onwards. The decisions are provided in the form of transcripts of judgments only: they do not include arguments of counsel nor headnotes. Holders of an Oxford SSO are reminded that Westlaw Edge UK, Lexis + UK and i-law are the subscription databases which provide them with published reports of UK judgments.

BAILII - recent decisions (all cases)
Free resource. Recent decisions lists contain the 20 most recently rendered court judgments for each BAILII court/tribunal database, in reverse chronological order.
Supreme Court (UK) News
Part of official website. As well as linking to the cases as decided, alerts one to the date of future judgments. As well as transcripts, provides links to videoed hearings. Members of the public and legal professionals who would like to subscribe (or unsubscribe) to receive judgment updates should email enquiries at enquiries@supremecourt.uk.
Courts and Tribunals Judiciary (UK)
Official website - includes announcements of recent judgments (and their transcripts and often link to video of the hearing for the higher courts)
ICLR.4
Limited access to non subscribers "You do not need an account to perform basic searches or to read judgment transcripts, case summaries or legislation; but full text law reports and advanced features such as Case Genie are only available to subscribers."

Change of Monarch

The Queen’s Bench Division (QBD) of the High Court became the King’s Bench Division (KBD).
The “R” often found in party names now stands for Rex (King) rather than Regina (Queen)
Practising silks changed from QCs (Queen’s Counsels) to KCs (King’s Counsels).

The ICLR has applied the above in all cases decided on or after 9 September 2022.

Finding Case Law from Non-UK Countries with a Common Law dimension

Please use the drop down menu on this page's tab or links below.

Finding cour decisions from countries from other legal traditions

Law Bod guides to national jurisdictions