Oxford LibGuides: Case law: online resources for common law countries: Africa

African case law via SAFLII

Botswana OU members see also Juta
Malawi
Mozambique
Namibia- OU members see also Juta
Seychelles
Swaziland
Tanzania OU members see also Juta
Zambia OU members see also Juta
Zimbabwe OU members see also Juta

For Kenya, Leosotho, Nigeria and Uganda see box on far right of this page.

Jutastat E-Publications
Alternative names: Juta Law ; Juta Online ; Jutastat

Contains: Juta’s South African Case Law 1838 to date; The South African Law Reports 1947 to date; Statutes and Regulations of South Africa; Juta’s Electronic Law Journals; Botswana Law Reports 1964 - ; Namibian Law Reports 1990 to date; Case Law of Zimbabwe including access to the Zimbabwe Law Reports 1980 - 2000 (2); Tanzania Law 1983 to 1997; Zambia Law Reports from 1963 to 1997.

SAFLII: South African Legal Information Institute Free resource. The major free access site for southern Africa. As of Oct 2012 has case law databases for the following countries: Angola, Botswana, Kenya, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Uganda, Zambia, Zimbabwe. In some instances has databases of legislation (not amended)

African Law Library may be an alternative free web service worth trying. It is not limited to common law Africa

Subscription databases

For holders of OSS with research interests in these jurisdictions:

Botswana - see link to Juta below
Nambia - see link to Juta below
Nigeria - see link to Electronic Law Companion (formerly Funmi Quadri) below
Tanzania - see link to Juta below
Zambia - see link to Juta below
Zimbabwe - see link to Juta below

Jutastat E-Publications
Alternative names: Juta Law ; Juta Online ; Jutastat

Contains: Juta’s South African Case Law 1838 to date; The South African Law Reports 1947 to date; Statutes and Regulations of South Africa; Juta’s Electronic Law Journals; Botswana Law Reports 1964 - ; Namibian Law Reports 1990 to date; Case Law of Zimbabwe including access to the Zimbabwe Law Reports 1980 - 2000 (2); Tanzania Law 1983 to 1997; Zambia Law Reports from 1963 to 1997.
Electronic Law Companion
- This link opens in a new window
Extra username and password are required for this resource. See Username and password webpage for details
Nigerian Supreme Court Quarterly Law Reports (NSCQLR) 2000 -

Judicial Committee of the Privy Council

The JCPC "is the highest court of appeal for many current and former Commonwealth countries, as well as the United Kingdom’s overseas territories, crown dependencies, and military sovereign base areas."

Judicial Committee of the Privy Council 2009 onwards
Official website. Transcripts of decided cases from 31 July 2009 onwards. Free access to earlier decisions available via BAILII
BAILII: Judicial Committee of the Privy Council 1809-
Free Access to Law site. From 1809 onwards, but only complete from 1996 onwards. Prior to that it has "selected historical decisions." Case papers from the IALS collection from 1930 -1985 (effectively a full paper set from 1950 to 1985) and some selected papers from earlier judgments of special interest to researchers have been included in the project. The digitised papers (case for the appellant, case for the respondent, record of proceedings, factums and appendices) are available as searchable PDF files alongside the judgment texts
Privy Council Papers Online 1792-1998
Open access "This website presents the first digital catalogue of the 'Printed Papers' of Appeals to the Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (JCPC), which was the final court of appeal for the British empire and later, for several countries of the Commonwealth. [see More]
more...less...
The 'Printed Papers in appeal' are detailed 'case-records' associated with appeal cases heard by the JCPC, which supplement the judgements. This catalogue contains key details for 9,368 cases, decided between 1792-1998, links to full-text judgements from BAILII where available, and the full text Printed Papers for 6 cases."