Oxford LibGuides: LGBTI law: Case Law

Finding decisions of international and domestic courts

All the judgments and decisions of the European Court of Human Rights – whether published in the official series or not – are freely available via HUDOC. If your citation is to the EHRR or BHRC then you will need to use a subscription database.

Westlaw Edge UK
European Human Rights Reports
European Human Rights Reports: Commissions Decisions (v.5-38)
European Human Rights Reports: Summaries and Extracts
European Human Rights Law Review (1996-)
European Journal of International Law (2002-)
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK

Westlaw is provided through a generous donation by Weil Gotshal & Manges LLP
Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Coverage:
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.
Lexis+ UK
European Court of Human Rights Cases - selected judgements going back to 1960.
Butterworths Human Rights Cases (some European material)
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included

HUDOC: ECHR: database of case law
Search screen for database of decisions. Use the left hand column to set sensible filters or construct a search string
European Court of Human Rights Thematic Factsheets
Open Access. The Court's Press Office produces & updates "factsheets by theme on the Court’s case-law and pending cases." Note the fact sheets are non-binding.
ESCR - Caselaw Database
Open access. This is a database of positive domestic, regional and international legal decisions from around the world regarding economic, social and cultural rights. These case summaries provide greater awareness about global ESCR issues, effective litigation strategies, progressive jurisprudence, and creative implementation tactics. Our case summaries are available primarily in English and Spanish, with a growing number also in French and Arabic.
more...less...
ESCR-Net Members —over 280 social movements, NGOs and advocates across 75 countries— “seek to build a global movement to make human rights and social justice a reality for all.” LGBTQI Rights is a Thematic focus.

Published English/UK law reports and transcripts are accessible to holders of an Oxford Single Sign On via the following subscription databases.

Lexis+ UK
For online access from a device outside the University network or via eduroam, please follow https://plus.lexis.com/uk/xhome?federationidp=RXVSX459307
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included
Westlaw Edge UK
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK

Westlaw is provided through a generous donation by Weil Gotshal & Manges LLP
Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Coverage:
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.

Transcripts of UK case law

Unreported judgments are available free online

UK Supreme Court
Official website. Posts transcripts of its judgments & press releases. Links to live camera feeds etc. "The Supreme Court is the final court of appeal in the UK for civil cases, and for criminal cases from England, Wales and Northern Ireland. It hears cases of the greatest public or constitutional importance affecting the whole population".

BAILII
Alternative names: British and Irish Legal Information Institute ; British & Irish Legal Information Institute

Free access to British and Irish judgments. General coverage starts mid 1990s, though earlier key judgments are also included. Bailii also includes a subject arrangement of judgments. The judgments are transcripts and do not include arguments of counsel or headnotes. For a wider selection of Law Reports please see Justis, Lexis or Westlaw.
Find Case Law - Judgments and decisions from 2003 onwards
Free access to judgments and decisions of United Kingdom courts and tribunals. As of June 2023 coverage is of decisions from the superior courts of record – the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal, the High Court, and the Upper Tribunals – and from 2003 onwards. The decisions are provided in the form of transcripts of judgments only: they do not include arguments of counsel nor headnotes. Holders of an Oxford SSO are reminded that Westlaw Edge UK, Lexis + UK and i-law are the subscription databases which provide them with published reports of UK judgments.

Case law: online resources for common law countries
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Mar 19, 2024 4395 views this year
Asia : guide to legal resources
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 82 views this year
European & Scandinavian/Nordic countries: legal resources
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Apr 4, 2024 151 views this year
Latin American Jurisdictions
by Kathryn Tyne Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 781 views this year

Related Law Bod Guides

Human Rights
by Kate Matthews Last Updated Apr 17, 2024 619 views this year
International law courts, cases & commentary
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Apr 17, 2024 579 views this year
Case law: online resources for common law countries
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Mar 19, 2024 4395 views this year
European & Scandinavian/Nordic countries: legal resources
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Apr 4, 2024 151 views this year
Asia : guide to legal resources
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 82 views this year
Latin American Jurisdictions
by Kathryn Tyne Last Updated Apr 18, 2024 781 views this year
Middle East, North Africa & Turkey : legal resources
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Apr 3, 2024 783 views this year
Russia, the CIS, & Georgia: legal resources
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Mar 15, 2024 26 views this year