LGBTI law: Books

If you are interested in the law in England, most of the books of interest to you will be shelved on Level 2, the entrance level to the Law Bod.

Looking for a Reading List title?

When you search SOLO for books on your Oxford Law Faculty Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Books in this collection must be asked for at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Please remember to bring your Oxford University Card or your Bodleian Reader's Card when you come to the Desk.
Note.  The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers (not just those on the particular course),

There is no one area of the library which covers specifically LGBT law, but you may encounter the following Law Library shelf marks in the results of searches

KM201-229      Civil rights
KM208.2    Equal opportunities and discrimination in constitutional law
KM544       Homosexuality as a sexual offence
KN152.3       LGBT people as a special class of person in law
KN172.9    Same-sex marriage and civil partnership
KN191          Equal opportunities and discrimination in employment law
KN185       Medical law and ethics

If you are interested in Australian, Canadian, NZ or USA dimensions of LGBTQI rights and law, the current collection will be on Level 2 (the entrance level to the Law Library) with shelf marks beginning K, in particular the following:

KM201-229      Civil rights
KM208.2    Equal opportunities and discrimination in constitutional law
KM544       Homosexuality as a sexual offence
KN152.3       LGBT people as a special class of person in law
KN172.9    Same-sex marriage and civil partnership
KN191          Equal opportunities and discrimination in employment law
KN185       Medical law and ethics

Note: The shelf marks will indicate - on the third line of the shelf mark - which jurisdiction is being discussed
Australian books are coded A8 
Canadian books are coded C1
Irish books are coded I5
New Zealand books are coded N4
USA books are coded U4

An example of a US book and its shelf mark is:

On Level 3, one floor above the entrance level, you will find books on the domestic law of European jurisdictions and European Union law.

On Level 1, one floor beneath the entrance level, you will find books on the domestic law of the remaining countries of the world.

On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning General. 
This is where you will find comparative studies, and works surveying the response to legal problems in two or more jurisdictions. 

If all the countries being compared are (or were) members of the Commonwealth, the book should have a shelf mark beginning Cw Gen. This collection is also on Level 2, but separate from General.

Please ask at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2 if you are having difficulty finding your way round our collection.

The principal collection of legal philosophy/jurisprudence books are also shelved on  Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library.  An area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning Jurisp.  Within this section the books are arranged by the last name of author or editor.

As the Law Library moves to the Moys Classification Scheme, you may find legal philosophy books with shelf marks beginning KA .
KA titles are probably described on SOLO as being in the Law Reserve Collection. Please ask for these books at the Law Enquiry Desk - and remember to bring your University or Bodleian Reader's card with you, as these heavily used titles are issued to you for use in the Library. You can keep reading them for the rest of day if you like - but we do ask that you return them to the Enquiry Desk as soon as possible after you have finished consulting them. 
KA books not held in the Law Reserve collection are on Level 2 - but a few shelves away from those with shelf marks beginning Jurisp.

SOLO searches will reveal that Bodleian Social Science Library also holds useful materials. It is only a 5 minute walk away from the Law Bod. Please ask a librarian for directions!

The public international law collection is shelved on Level 3, one floor above the entrance level to the Law Library.

Books on the international protection and promotion of human rights and equality will most likely have shelf marks beginning  Internat 570. Books are arranged within the section by author's/editor's surname.