Oxford LibGuides: Africa: sub-Saharan jurisdictions: Regional blocs

African Regional Economic Communities (RECs) & related movements

Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law (MPEIL)
Remote access requires Oxford SSO. This is regularly updated and new content added. Currently entries include "Dispute Settlement: African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA)" and "Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS)"
Alternative names: Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) ; Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro)

The Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law combines the fully updated online edition of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law (MPEPIL) (originally published in print between 1991 and 2001) with the Max Planck Encyclopedia of International Procedural Law (MPEiPro) which has been published (online only) since September 2019. The peer-reviewed articles in both works are updated and added to monthly.

Subject searches to use in SOLO

Foreign trade regulation -- Africa
Monetary unions -- Africa
Africa -- Economic integration
Africa -- Foreign economic relations

African Continental Free Trade Area (AfCFTA)
Official website The AfCFTA is the world’s largest free trade area bringing together the 55 countries of the African Union (AU) and eight (8) Regional Economic Communities (RECs). The overall mandate of the AfCFTA is to create a single continental market
African Development Bank Group (AfDB)
Official website
African Intellectual Property Organization (AIPO/OAPI)
Official website
Regional Trade Agreements in Africa: A Historical and Bibliographic Account of ECOWAS and CEMAC
Free resource. By Victor Essien Part of Globalex
Organization for the Harmonisation of Business Law in Africa (OHADA)
Official website. Has texts of treaties, uniform laws, jurisprudence, bibliography etc. A lot is available free -click on UK flag to have major documents in English.
OHADA Legis
Free resource but requires registration
Ohada Legis is a Network of professionals specialized in African Business Law and notably Ohada Business Law, wishing to enhance the understanding of Ohada Law and provide services related thereto in Ohada member countries. Headed by Dr Evelyne MANDESSI BELL
Head of the Network
Ph D. in Law.
Lawyer registered with Cameroon Bar Association.
Consultant. Douala.

Community of Sahel–Saharan States (CEN-SAD)
This is an EU website, but it has useful description and and downloadable documents relating to CENSAD. "The primary objective of the organisation is the establishment of a comprehensive economic union and elimination of all obstacles impeding the unity of its member states to promote economic, cultural, political, and social integration. The revised treaty emphasised two other areas of cooperation: regional security and sustainable development."

Another Bodleian guide may support interest in this area

South African Development Community (SADC)
Official website. "The main objectives ... are to achieve economic development, peace and security, and growth, alleviate poverty, enhance the standard and quality of life of the peoples of Southern Africa, and support the socially disadvantaged through Regional Integration"
Trade Law Centre for Southern Africa
Open Access library of BITs, COMESA, SACU,
SADC, & EAC legal texts
more...less...
The Trade Law Centre NPC (tralac) is an independent, capacity building think tank. Established in 2001, tralac is a non-profit organization, registered in South Africa. tralac builds trade-related capacity in Africa; assisting countries to improve trade governance and inclusive policy processes to ensure that trade contributes to sustainable development outcomes.
Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)
Official website

East African Community (EAC)
East African Legislative Assembly
Official website
East African Court of Justice
Official website
East African Court of Justice Law Report (EACJLR)
"These reports contain select cases determined by the Court during its first decade. They are published in two volumes: 2005-2011 and 2012-2015 ... Each contains a case summary together with a list of legal instruments and cases cited plus the complete and unabridged ruling or judgment. However, the report does not include all references filed during the reporting period.
The Court disclaims any responsibility for any errors, omissions or discrepancies contained in these reports."

The original signed and stamped decision held in the Court’s Registry is the only authentic version and will prevail.
Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa (COMESA)
Official website
Intergovernmental Authority on Development (‘IGAD’)

UEMOA:Union Economique et Monétaire Ouest Africaine
Official website. Members Bénin; Burkina Faso; Côte d'Ivoire; Mali; Niger; Sénégal; Togo; Guinée-Bissau
ECOWAS(CEDEAO): Economic community of West African States
Official website. Members: Benin, Burkina Faso, Cabo Verde, Côte d'Ivoire, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Liberia, Mali, Niger, Nigeria, Senegal Sierra Leone. Togo
ECOWAS Court of Justice
Official website
Banque centrale des Etats de l'Afrique de l'Ouest (BCEAO)
Official website French is the official language, but the web pages do offer some documents in translation.
CIMA: inter African conference for the insurance market
Official website "CIMA is a unique example of the integration of the regulation and supervision of the insurance industry comprising 14 countries in West and Central Africa"

Trade law
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Apr 3, 2024 310 views this year
Commercial Arbitration
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Apr 11, 2024 651 views this year
Middle East, North Africa & Turkey : legal resources
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Apr 3, 2024 783 views this year
South Africa : legal resources
by Elizabeth Wells Last Updated Apr 3, 2024 1835 views this year
African Studies
by Sarah Rhodes Last Updated Apr 3, 2024 478 views this year