Hertford Library is currently offering remote services while the library is inaccessible.
One-to-one support is available:
We're buying access to new ebooks on request and, in some cases, can buy print books and have them delivered directly to you. We may also be able to arrange a scan of a specific chapter and postal loans of books from the Library. You can request these services using our online request form.
If you have a reading list for the coming term please share it with us. We'd love to know what you need so we can help you get it! Please send any lists to library@hertford.ox.ac.uk.
Ebooks are being bought and added to SOLO daily.
To search exclusively for ebooks that are available to access from home, see our guide on limiting searches to accessible ebooks.
University members also have access to some other ebook sources that are not included in SOLO, details of these are listed below.
You can request new ebooks for purchase by filling in the Bodleian Libraries book request form or contacting Hertford Library on library@hertford.ox.ac.uk.
Temporary access to a number of online packages has been arranged by the Bodleian Libraries and individual book records are now in SOLO.
You can browse for Oxford online database subscriptions on Databases A-Z, which has recommended databases for Computer Science. These include primary sources like the ACM Digital Library, reference resources like the Oxford Research Encyclopedias, and bibliographical databases.
Bibliographical databases allow you to search for resources on a specific subject across different formats such as books, book chapters, journal articles, conference proceedings, reports and theses. Examples of bibliographical databases include SCOPUS and the Web of Science.
One particularly useful database for Computer Science is O'Reilly (formerly Safari Books Online), which provides access to many Computer Science ebooks. This resource requires you to register before using it for the first time. When asked to 'Select your institution' do not select 'Oxford University', instead please select 'Not listed, Click here' and register your Oxford University email address.
Th
e Internet Archive has freely available online books that are out of copyright. This means older editions of literary texts are often available there.
The Internet Archive has also made a number of 20th century academic books available to borrow through their Lending Library. To use this service you need to set up a free user account. These books are still in copyright so the authors may request that they are removed from the website. If you find a useful resources in the Lending Library then use them quickly and take very detailed notes - you might not be able to access them again in a few weeks.
This page contains links to repositories, search engines, and websites for Computer Science information and research. Selected resources contain abstracts, full-text articles, technical reports, experimental data, and other technical information.
Disclaimer: We do not take responsibility for the content of external websites.