The majority of books held by the Bodleian Libraries, in both physical and electronic formats, can be searched for via SOLO. If you are new to Oxford libraries or to SOLO, we recommend visiting the 'Getting Started' and 'How to' guides at the links below.
A list of guides providing foundational information on accessing resources and using the Bodleian Libraries.
Find information on how to use our key resource discovery tools, library services and more.
The following tabs list Oxford libraries with journal runs of interest to those studying Egyptology. Access rights and borrowing privileges are subject to conditions; please check individual library websites for further information.
For those wishing to learn more about searching for journals in Oxford, we recommend the following guides:
Intended for students and researchers at the University of Oxford, or those visiting, who seek support in using the Bodleian Libraries resource discovery tool, SOLO.
The Art, Archaeology and Ancient World Library is one of the Bodleian Libraries’ principal research libraries, with collections focusing on the study of Archaeology and the Ancient World, Art and Architectural History.
The Bodleian Library is the University's largest library, with holdings numbering several million items. It offers library use only access to many journals, the majority of which are stored offsite.
Journals stored offsite need to be requested to a reading room via SOLO.
Holds a number of works on Judaism.
For titles on oriental theology and religion.
Queen's College has a long association with Egyptology at Oxford. The Peet Library, which comprises c. 3,400 books on Egyptology, is a specialist collection of Egyptology material which is maintained and updated by Queen's College library. It was donated by Sir Alan Gardiner (1879–1963) in memory of Professor Thomas Eric Peet (1882–1934), a noted Egyptologist and a Fellow of Queen’s. It is open to all students of Egyptology in the University and anyone else who can prove that access to the collection will be beneficial to their studies. In order to gain access, you must contact the Professor of Egyptology, richard.parkinson(AT)queens.ox.ac.uk .
Ejournals are digital manifestations of select types of serial publications. Broadly speaking they come in two forms: they are either 'born digital' or are digital reproductions of physical works.
If you don't find an issue of an Egyptological journal in eformat on SOLO, it is worth checking the constantly updated free ejournals and digitized paper periodicals list on the Egyptologists' Electronic Forum (EEF).
The following tabs list ejournal collections, conference proceedings and platforms relevant to the study of Egyptology. For those wishing to browse ejournals, we recommend visiting e-Journals A-Z, or BrowZine.
An index of Oxford University's ejournal subscriptions.
Information on accessing Bodleian Libraries content remotely.
The e-resources team use this blog to help keep you informed of news and changes in the world of e-journals and databases.
The following is a sample of ejournal collections and journal indexing services applicable to those studying Egyptology at Oxford. We recommend visiting Databases A-Z for a full breakdown of eresource packages, including trials and new arrivals, available to Oxford University members.
Oxford subscribes to a wide range of eresources to support your research and study. Find the best library databases for your research here.
The following is a sample of free ejournal aggregators applicable to those studying Egyptology at Oxford.
Operated by Bielefeld University Library, this is one of the world's most voluminous search engines for academic web resources. BASE provides more than 150 million documents from more than 7,000 sources. You can access the full texts of about 60% of the indexed documents for free.
Supported by the Open University and JISC, CORE’s mission is to aggregate all OA research outputs from repositories and journals worldwide and make them available to the public.
The Directory of Open Access Journals is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals.
Used to search for scholarly literature including articles, theses, abstracts and books from a variety of publishers.
JSTOR's collection of OA journals offers broad coverage in the field of humanities as well as other subject areas. You can create an account to access further content.
OpenDOAR is the quality-assured, global Directory of Open Access Repositories. You can search and browse through thousands of registered repositories based on a range of features, such as location, software or type of material held.
ORA provides a single point of public access to electronic copies of peer-reviewed journal articles, conference proceedings by Oxford authors and Oxford research theses.
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the journal or article you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Single-Sign On required). Alternatively, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.
BrowZine is an alternative way to browse many of the ejournals subscribed to by the Bodleian Libraries. Coverage is from 2005 onwards. For those wishing to learn more, we recommend the following guide: