Skip to main content

Egyptology: Home

The Sackler Library is the premier research library for Egyptology at the University of Oxford. It incorporates the libraries previously housed in the Griffith Institute and the Ashmolean Museum.
Subjects: Egyptology

Egyptology Subject Librarian

Susanne Woodhouse                                        
Sackler Library
Bodleian Libraries
University of Oxford 

e-mail: susanne.woodhouse@bodleian.ox.ac.uk
web: https://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/sackler

blog: http://blogs.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/sackler/

Key Resources

SOLO - Oxford's union catalogue for the holdings of university, departmental and college libraries as well as e-resources available to Oxford researchers.

E-Journals A-Z - Compilation of all electronic journals available through SOLO.

Database A-Z - Compilation of library databases.

ORA - Oxford's University Research Archive.

COPAC - Union catalogue for the holdings of UK research libraries.

WorldCat - Massive union catalogue of countless libraries worldwide. Useful for finding books and archival materials beyond Oxford.

Other links

Basics & Getting started - Finding and borrowing physical and electronic books by using SOLO, finding and using eresources, finding and using journals and articles, special collections, finding information about Oxford libraries, printing/photocopying/scanning (PCAS), WiFi and passwords.

Research and Resources Guides - A wide range of research, resource and library guides are available from our LibGuides service.

Collection Overview

The Sackler Library is the premier research library for Egyptology at the University of Oxford. An additional resource especially for rare and manuscript material for this subject is the Bodleian Library. Anyone studying or researching Egyptology in Oxford should expect to make use of both libraries


 

Libraries & Reading Rooms: Principal collections

The Sackler Library is home to the main research collections for Egyptology as well as Ancient Near Eastern Studies, Classics and Ancient History, Papyrology, Numismatics, Archaeology, Eastern Art and Western Art. This unique combination of subjects in one building respects their overlaps to the effect that all aspects and periods of Egyptology, inc Coptology and Sudanology, are fully covered to and excluding the coming of Islam.

The majority of books relevant to the study of Egyptology in the Sackler Library are on open shelves on the first floor of the Sackler Library. Many of the books and periodicals in the collection may be borrowed, although major reference works and rare material are confined to the library.

The Bodleian Library has, by virtue of its copyright library status, accumulated a comprehensive collection of books in the field of British Egyptology as well as of works on travel in Egypt, especially before the 20th century. Additionally the Bodleian Library holds some archival material, most importantly the Papers of Sir John Gardner Wilkinson. The great majority of this material is not on open access.

Libraries & Reading Rooms: Associated collections

Apart from the two major research libraries Queen's College houses the Peet Library which comprises c. 3,400 books on Egyptology. The collection of books was donated by Sir Alan H. Gardiner to honour the memory of the Egyptologist Thomas Eric Peet and ever since it has been maintained by the Professor of Egyptology. It is open to all students of Egyptology in the University and anyone else who can prove that access to the collection will be beneficial to their studies. Information on how to register can be found HERE.  

The Griffith Archive, named after its founder Francis Llewellyn Griffith, the first Professor of Egyptology at Oxford, is accommodated on the premises of the Sackler Library. It is the largest archive of unpublished Egyptological material in the world, including manuscripts, photographs, slides, drawings, sketches, watercolours, correspondence, notebooks and dig diaries, indexes, plans of Egyptian monuments. The collection can be consulted by appointment.

Related Oxford University Institutions


Ashmolean Museum - The Ashmolean’s collections from ancient Egypt and Sudan are among the most extensive in Britain, with approximately 50,000 objects representing every period of human occupation in the Nile Valley from prehistory to the 7th century AD.

Griffith Institute - The Griffith Institute provides vital resources for the study of the history and culture of ancient Egypt and the Near East, which may be accessed directly, or online.

Oriental Institute - The OI is home to the University's Faculty of Oriental Studies.

Pitt Rivers Museum - Founded in 1884 the Pitt Rivers Museum houses the archaeological and anthropological collections of the University of Oxford. The collection includes objects from Egypt and the Sudan.