Skip to main content

Theology: Home


Hilla Wait (Theology Subject Librarian)
tel: 01865 276927

Other links

Bodleian iSkills and other Workshops (Information skills, accessing resources, open access and more) These workshops are aimed at researchers, academic staff, research students and librarians from across the University.

PCAS (Printing, Copying and Scanning) Guides on using this service in the Bodleian Libraries.

Philosophy of Science LibGuide A guide to studying philosophy of science, mathematics and physics at Oxford.

All LibGuides A wide range of research, resource and library guides are available.

Bible Studies Libguide  A guide to Bible Studies resources, both print and electronic.



Bibleworks 10 is now available on three computers in the PTFL computer room.

It is a very powerful Bible research tool with:

  • Cross-referencing across hundreds of different languages, ancient, modern and developing.
  • Extra-biblical information - maps, trade routes, fully searchable place-names throughout multiple time periods
  • Morphology and language features
  • Multiple comparison screens

Libraries & Reading Rooms: Principal collections

Library resources in Theology are provided at the Bodleian Library and the Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library.

The Philosophy and Theology Faculties Library is the main lending library for theology at Oxford, at both taught course and research-level. The library purchases almost all its holdings, and multiple copies are provided of frequently-used books.

The Bodleian Library is the University's largest library, holding the legal deposit collection of all UK copyright books and journals; its holdings exceed 6 million books. It also purchases extensively from outside the UK. The most frequently-used theology books are housed on open shelves in the Theology and Patristics Rooms of the Lower Reading Room, Old Bodleian Library (see map). Books at the Bodleian are for reference only and cannot be borrowed. Extensive off-site stacks house less-commonly-used books that you may order to library reading rooms.

Libraries & Reading Rooms: Other collections

More texts on Islamic theology may be found at the Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies library. For Oriental theology and religion, see the Oriental Institute Library, the K. B. Chen China Centre Library, and the Oxford Centre for Hindu Studies library. For further texts on Jewish philosophy, see the Leopold Muller Memorial Library, part of the Oxford Centre for Hebrew and Jewish Studies. The Oxford Centre for Mission Studies Library also holds relevant material.

Other subject libraries, for example the Social Science Library, the History Faculty Library, the Tylor Library (anthropology), the Taylor Institution Library (modern languages), and the Sackler (classics) may also hold material of interest to theologians.

All these libraries' collections can be searched via SOLO. The Oxford Centre for Mission Studies and Oxford Centre for Islamic Studies libraries are reference only. Borrowing restrictions may apply; for details, check individual library websites.

Important eResources

Oxford's electronic theology resources may be accessed through OxLIP+, which is accessible on any computer on the University network, and remotely for those with an Oxford Single-Sign On.

Oxford University e-Journals provides access to the many online theology periodicals to which Oxford subscribes.

Oxford subcribes to various relevant databases, such as ATLA (the American Theological Library Association) and Arts and Humanities Citation Index. There are extensive online resources for primary and secondary theology texts, for example, Past Masters, Oxford Biblical Studies Online, The Digital Library of Classic Protestant Texts, Encyclopedia of Islam, and many more. See the Theology subject in OxLIP+ for a full list of theology e-resources).

Collection overview

New Books Some of the most recent philosophy and theology acquisitions to the Philosophy & Theology Faculties Library. You will find most of them on our New Books Display.

Collection development policy for theology.