Oxford LibGuides: Chinese Studies: e-Books

Chinese e-Books (Chinamaxx)

讀秀/Duxiu: a Chinese language e-Book platform as a part of Chinamaxx

• Access to abstracts and contents pages of several million e-Books

•IP login (VPN needed), Keywords and full-text searchable

• Immediate access to some titles using 图书馆文献传递 via email (with a limit on the number of pages allowed)

Wenshi Ziliao 文史資料: a collection of Chinese literature and history database as a part of Chinamaxx .

The primary source contains full texts of more than 20,000 volumes (500,000 articles) of publications on history, culture, politics, economy, literature and ethnicity etc.
Key words and full-text searchable
Browse by regions and provinces

SuperStar Digital Library 超星數字圖書館

Check the box marked as "试读全书库"
The first 17 pages of each book may be viewed and the entire book is available to select upon recommendations
Search by titles, authors, subjects, ISBN and keywords
Browse by subjects

Modern Chinese Books (1840-1949)
Books, as a medium, contain ideas, carry knowledge, and keep abreast of the development of the times. Taking modern book publishing in the context of profound changes in modern society, it is full of themes of the times such as the struggle between China and the West, the struggle between the old and the new, the survival of the nation, the prosperity of the nation, and the changes in the form of engraving and printing, horizontal and vertical, etc. Both show their own historical particularity.

Chinese local gazetteers 中國方志庫

A collection of more than 2000 historical local gazetteers dating from the Song dynasty until the Republican era
Select 中國方志庫初集 to access
Full-text searchable and IP login (VPN needed)

Modern Local Gazetteers 新方志(Wanfang)

This database gives access to more than 55,000 works of post-1949 local gazetteers from China. The fulltext of the gazetteers can searched through and the database can also be browsed either by different provinces, districts, counties and cities but also by subject (such as traffic, industry, education and culture). Local gazetteers contain valuable details and accounts on larger and smaller administrative units of the People's Republic of China and thus provide important source materials for studying modern and contemporary China. More than 3 Mio PDFs of individual chapters are available for reference and download.

Classical texts

Siku Quanshu 四庫全書

中國古代最大的一部叢書. 全書分為經、史、子、集四部，內容涵蓋哲學、歷史、文藝、政治、社會、經濟、軍事、法律、醫學、天文、地理、算學、生物學、農業、佔卜等.

IP login (VPN needed). Internet Explore only. Full-text searchable

明清實錄Mingqing Shilu

Select "Ancient Classics" then login (IP login and VPN needed)

Select 數字叢書 then 明清實錄

CHANT (CHinese ANcient Texts)漢達文庫 (Chinese University of Hong Kong)

資料庫共收錄約8,000萬字，其年代由商周以至魏晉南北朝，地域則及於楚、齊、魯等重要文化區域。涵蓋甲骨文，金文，竹簡帛書、先秦兩漢傳世文獻，魏晉南北朝傳世文獻，類書和詞彙七個數據庫。繁體字全體檢索。

Chinese Text Project (Ctext) 中國哲學書電子化計劃(Donald Sturgeon)

An online open-access digital library that makes pre-modern Chinese texts available

Reports and Yearbooks

Pishu 皮书: China Economy, Public Policy, and Security Database

High-value analytical reports
Topics including international relations, agricultural policy and industrial competitiveness
Full-text searchable
Browse and filters: Thematic keywords, Geographic keywords and Geographic level

Chinese Yearbooks Full-text Database (access to Humanities and Information Science) (CNKI) 中國年鑒

China Statistical Yearbooks Full-text Database 中國統計年鑒數據庫(CNKI)
Please note that to access the latest data the Chinese version of the database should be used. To open the files from the Chinese version the CAJ browser software is needed. The English version of the database is updated with a delay necessary for translation