Downtime: This resource will be unavailable from 1 April 2023 until further notice.
Our vendor, EastView, the US and European agent of Tongfang Knowledge Network Technology Co., Ltd. (Beijing), the supplier of CNKI services, indicated that the Cybersecurity Administration (the Chinese government agency charged with information security) will require Chinese publishers to temporarily suspend access to full-text view/downloads of this content type, as soon as April 1 as CAC creates new compliance standards for publishers. However, it is unclear when CAC will complete the creation of such new compliance standards and what content may then become accessible after that. These conditions are breaking news for us in Bodleian, our vendor and their partners in China, who supply the content for overseas use. The situation remains fluid and uncertain at this moment in time. We will monitor the situation and will keep our readers informed of developments as and when we find out. ##
The database provides access to the official statistical yearbooks on a national and provincial level as well as to the statistical yearbooks of a wide range of major Chinese cities. Please note that to access the latest data the Chinese version of the database should be used. The English version of the database is updated with a certain delay necessary for translation. All the statistical data is available in Excel and CAJ (viewer available from the website) format for download.
The Sixth National Population Census of China Database (NPCC) provides access to data from the latest Chinese population census in 2010 as published in print by China Statistics Press. This includes nationwide population data, as well as data from 31 provinces, the centrally administered municipalities and 2872 units at the county level. All the statistical data is available in Excel and PDF format for download.
A collection of over 1400 maps covering pre-1900 Southeast Asia via IIIF, showcasing maps for four partner institutions: Leiden University Libraries, National Library Board – Singapore, the Beinecke Rare Book and Manuscript Library, and the Bodleian Libraries.
The principal statistical publication and database of the IMF which is the standard source for all aspects of international and domestic finance. It reports time series data on exchange rates, balance of payments, international liquidity, money and banking, interest rates, prices, production, international transactions, government accounts, national accounts and population. The database contains over 67,000 monthly, quarterly and annual time series data. Most annual data begin in 1948; quarterly and monthly data generally begin in 1957; most balance of payments data begin in 1970. Selected data, including data on Fund accounts, international reserves and international trade, are also aggregated into regional and world tables. Data are reported in a mixture of indexes, national currencies, US Dollars and SDRs (the basket currency the Fund uses as a unit of account).
Access is available through the IMF data portal (http://www.imf.org/external/data.htm) and further user manuals and support are provided. Regular deposits into the UK Data Archive of this database means the UK Data Service may also be used as an alternative access point (https://www.ukdataservice.ac.uk/use-data/guides/dataset/ifs) and will be useful for researchers already using the UKDS.Stat analytical tool or other UKDS collections.
Alternative name: International Monetary Fund eLibrary
The IMF elibrary provides online access to the complete collection of global economic content published by the International Monetary Fund (IMF) comprising more than 11,000 text publications and full access to the IMF's statistical databases. Access offers information and analysis on macroeconomics, globalization, development, trade and aid, technical assistance, demographics, emerging markets, policy advice and poverty reduction.
A database that contains selected macroeconomic data series from the statistical appendix of the World Economic Outlook report, presenting IMF staff analysis and projections of economic developments at the global level, in major country groups and in many individual countries. his database can be used to find data on national accounts, inflation, unemployment rates, balance of payments, fiscal indicators, trade for countries and country groups (aggregates), and commodity prices whose data are reported by the IMF. Updated twice a year, annual data are available from 1980 to the present and projections are given for the next five years. Data is presented for approximately 180 countries.
Access is available through the IMF data portal (https://www.imf.org/en/Publications/SPROLLS/world-economic-outlook-databases) and further user manuals and support are provided. Regular deposits into the UK Data Archive of this database means the UK Data Service may also be used as an alternative access point (https://beta.ukdataservice.ac.uk/datacatalogue/studies/study?id=5761) and will be useful for researchers already using the UKDS.Stat analytical tool or other UKDS collections.
The IMF Government Finance Statistics (GFS) database is updated quarterly and is the standard reference source on governments of IMF member countries. Annual data is supplied from 1990 onwards on revenue income by source (tax, lending, bonds, etc.), and expenditure by sector (defence, education, health, etc.) for all levels of government. Data are in local currencies with the major components and expenditures on education, health, social security and agriculture shown also as a percentage of gross domestic product (GDP) Historical data is also available as far back as 1972 although coverage will vary.
Access is available through the IMF data portal (https://data.imf.org/GFS) and further user manuals and support are provided. Regular deposits into the UK Data Archive of this database means the UK Data Service may also be used as an alternative access point (https://beta.ukdataservice.ac.uk/datacatalogue/studies/study?id=4994) and will be useful for researchers already using the UKDS.Stat analytical tool or other UKDS collections.
This link accesses UN Comtrade through a University of Oxford subscription and provides access to the premium service. This includes the facility for users to bulk download data which is denied those using the UN Open Data portal.
UN Comtrade contains detailed import and export flow data for over 200 countries listed by commodity and partner country. These data are processed into a standard format with consistent coding and valuation. All values are converted into US dollars using exchange rates supplied by the countries, or derived from monthly market rates and volume of trade. Where possible quantities are converted into metric units. For many countries the data coverage starts as far back as 1962 and all go up to the most recent completed year.
Commodities are classified according to Standard International Trade Classification (SITC) and the Harmonized Commodity Description and Coding System (HS). The original data are also converted and stored in alternative classifications
Google Analytics - Bodleian Libraries use Google Analytics cookies on this web site. Google Analytics anonymously tracks individual visitor behaviour on this web site so that we can see how LibGuides is being used. We only use this information for monitoring and improving our websites and content for the benefit of our users (you). You can opt out of Google Analytics cookies completely (from all websites) by visiting https://tools.google.com/dlpage/gaoptout