This guide is intended for students and researchers studying China at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.
Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for Chinese, including ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases.
Trial until 30th Jun
Ainosco Search https://www.ainoscosearch.com/ offers full-text search across a significant amount of Chinese-language book content, including monographs, diaries, biographies, interviews, and government reports published in Taiwan, Hong Kong and Macau in 1900 to today.
Access to the full-text search database "Ainosco Search" and to full-text electronic books during the trial period.
Please make sure Oxford University VPN connected before access. One user at a time for full access to ebooks.
Chinese Regulatory Actions to Impact Access
In March 2023, the Cybersecurity Administration of China (CAC) imposed new oversight requirements on specific content types appearing in the China National Knowledg Infrastructure (CNKI). Due to these requirements, full text downloads of four content types will be temporarily suspended: dissertations, conference proceedings, patents, and statistics. Academic journals, newspapers, and numerous other content types are not being impacted. Please note, the suspension will take effect on March 31, 2023 12:00 pm Eastern Time, corresponding to the action occurring April 1 in the People’s Republic of China.
Please follow the link for more information.
We currently have temporary full access to CYFD with over 5,200 titles and 44k volumes of yearbooks during the suspension period. URL: https://oversea.cnki.net/kns?dbcode=CYFD
We now have access to complete collection of 2636 yearbook titles with 30309 volumes, including the most recent titles. There is also an English interface with datamining function for statistical analysis.
Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for Chinese studies and printed books, including the main science collection in the KB Chen China Centre library. For more detailed info about our book collections visit our book page and e-Book page of this guide.
Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Chinese studies below, but take a look at other pages of this guide for more titles.