Oxford LibGuides: Refugee and Forced Migration Studies: Home

Finding books for refugee and forced migration studies

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks and printed books for refugee and forced migration studies, including the main collection in the Social Science Library. For more detailed info about our book collections visit our books page of this guide.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
SOLO user guide
If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Key journals & working papers

The Journals and working papers page of this guide presents subscription collections and pоrtals, which offer access to full-text periodicals and industry reports; it also provides information on working and research papers, a valuable source of speeding up dissemination and providing access to early stage research in refugee and forced migration studies.

Below are a few of the top journals for refugee and forced migration studies but you can find a longer list on the Journals and working papers page of this guide.

If you want to search for and browse all journals the University subscribes to, you can do so through the SOLO Library Catalogue.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic and statistical databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for refugee and forced migration studies below, but take a look at the databases page of this guide for more titles.

Border and Migration Studies Online
Border and Migration Studies Online provides historical context and resources, representing both personal and institutional perspectives, for the growing fields of border(land) studies and migration studies, as well as history, law, politics, diplomacy, area and global studies, anthropology, medicine, the arts, and more. At completion, the collection will include 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images. In collaboration with an international board of scholars, materials have been selected and organized around fundamental themes such as: Border Identities, enforcement and control; human trafficking; Undocumented migration; and Global Governance of migration. This database covers the 19th to the 21st centuries.
IBSS: International Bibliography of the Social Sciences
The International Bibliography of the Social Sciences is a bibliographic database compiled by the British Library of Political & Economic Science of the London School of Economics & Political Science. This database contains bibliographic information from an international selection of publications (including over 2600 journals) in the fields of economics, political science, sociology, and anthropology. The bibliographic data in respect of the years prior to 1987 was originally compiled by the International Committee for Social Science Information and Documentation, and provided by courtesy of the International Committee for Social Science Information and Documentation and UNESCO.
Scopus
Scopus is a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences. It covers over 25,000 journals and over 300,000 books from over 7,000 publishers worldwide, providing access to over 90 million records going back as far as the 18th century.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection‎
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Included databases:
Criminology Collection
Education Collection
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Library & Information Science Collection
Linguistics Collection
Politics Collection
Social Science Database

You can browse Databases A-Z, a list of Oxford's online databases, or search all Oxford databases, along with other resources, on SOLO Library Catalogue

Databases A-Z
A full, browsable list of Oxford's online bibliographic databases.
SOLO

Key news sources & analysis

Oxford provides access to current online news sources, subscriptions, analytical materials, and historical periodicals archives. Browse or search SOLO if you are looking for printed newspapers held in the Bodleian libraries. You can find some of the key databases for news sources for refugee and forced migration studies below, but take a look at the online news sources and analysis page of this guide for more titles.

BBC Monitoring
This resource requires you to register before use. This resource requires you to log in with your Oxford SSO again at the homepage.
BBC Monitoring tracks, translates, summarises and analyses local media sources around the world. It is an interdisciplinary resource, and its stated specialisms include: Russia, Eastern Europe, Middle East and North Africa, Sub Saharan Africa, Latin America, Asia, Disinformation.
To register or log in, please select Log In and enter your Oxford college or department email address (for example, @balliol.ox.ac.uk or @history.ox.ac.uk; not just @ox.ac.uk).
Factiva
If the Factiva link does not work, please try a second time. We are working to resolve this error.

Please see Factiva user guide.
Factiva, a Dow Jones & Reuters Company, provides essential business news and information together with the content delivery tools and services that enable professionals to make better decisions faster. Factiva's unrivalled collection of more than 10,000 authoritative sources includes thousands of current newspapers, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles.
Factiva's innovative, XML-based and Web services-enabled technology platform provides access to this rich content collection via Factiva's role-specific products or through customized enterprise, group or personal solutions. Executives, information professionals, marketers, salespeople, and other professionals can easily monitor and understand the latest news, market trends, and business challenges relevant to them directly from the Microsoft Office and job-specific applications they use every day.
Nexis UK
- This link opens in a new window
For online access from a device outside the University network or via eduroam, please follow https://advance.lexis.com?federationidp=RXVSX459307
Alternative names: LexisNexis Business & News ; Lexis Nexis Business & News

The news coverage offered by Nexis UK - Global news and business information service has over 20,000 sources of authoritative news, company, financial and market research data. The complete, fully customisable, online news and business research service bringing together in a single source, all news, financial and business information licensed by LexisNexis for the academic market from around the globe.

Key archives

The Bodleian Libraries house a number of refugee-related archival and personal papers collections held in the Social Science Library and the Bodleian Special Collections. A selection of key collections are highlighted below but take a look at the archives page of this guide for more primary source materials.

Subject Librarian

Sarah Rhodes

Email Me

Contact:

Bodleian Social Science Library,
University of Oxford, Manor Road Building,
Oxford,
OX1 3UQ

+44(0)1865 2-85998

Subjects: Caribbean Studies

Key libraries

The Bodleian Social Sciences Library (SSL)
Contains the collections of the former Refugee Studies Centre (RSC) Library and houses material supporting the research and teaching of the RSC.
more...less...
The collections cover the causes, experiences, and consequences of forced displacement and have an international coverage. Reflecting the multi-disciplinary nature of the study of forced migration, the Library actively collects materials covering psycho-social issues, human rights, refugee law, relief administration, anthropology, sociology, international affairs, education, health and nutrition.
Bodleian Law Library
For guidance on how the collections in the Bodleian Law Library and The Bodleian Official Paper Collection could support your studies, please use the guides below:
Official Papers for refugee studies
more...less...
The guide to Oxford's collection of Official Papers relevant to refugee studies.
People on the move: laws & HR responses
more...less...
The guide about sources and commentary for migration and asylum law, including ebooks, ejournals, and databases.

Related guides

Useful links

Forced Migration Current Awareness Blog

Forced Migration Current Awareness Blog
A service highlighting open access reports & scholarly materials relating to refugees, asylum-seekers, internally displaced persons (IDPs), and other forced migrants; provided by Elisa Mason

Looking for your course reading list or materials?

Oxford University Canvas
Access requires Oxford SSO. Canvas is the University’s virtual learning environment for teaching and learning at Oxford.
Depending on how your course has set it up, you can use Canvas to: access your course materials;
submit assignments or quizzes; get feedback on your work; start discussions and collaborate with other students or academics; access your reading lists.
Canvas at Oxford
This YouTube channel is available containing some useful videos to get you up and running on Canvas. There are videos on downloading and using the mobile apps for iOS or Android, allowing you to access your courses anywhere, at any time.

Refugee and Forced Migration Studies: Home

Purpose of this guide