Refugee and Forced Migration Studies: News sources & analysis

Access to Series F, G, H, and J, as well as NE and NF up to 2016 only

Ethnic NewsWatch is an interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Designed to provide the "other side of the story," ENW titles offer additional viewpoints from those proffered by the mainstream press. Coverage begins in 1990.

Factiva, a Dow Jones & Reuters Company, provides essential business news and information together with the content delivery tools and services that enable professionals to make better decisions faster. Factiva's unrivalled collection of more than 10,000 authoritative sources includes thousands of current newspapers, as well as Reuters Fundamentals, and D&B company profiles.

Factiva's innovative, XML-based and Web services-enabled technology platform provides access to this rich content collection via Factiva's role-specific products or through customized enterprise, group or personal solutions. Executives, information professionals, marketers, salespeople, and other professionals can easily monitor and understand the latest news, market trends, and business challenges relevant to them directly from the Microsoft Office and job-specific applications they use every day.

Please note that readers have the right limited to display and print out the contents from this database. Downloading, storing and saving content are prohibited under this licence.

The opening page (in Japanese) takes a while to load. Also note that we only have a three simultaneous user licence so please close your browser when you have finished. Database provides 24-Hour Nikkei News with over 100 stories translated from Nikkei's Japanese newspapers daily, Special features with archives on key economic and political issues affecting Japan. Stock, bond and forex information with the latest reports Corporate database of over 3,300 listed and OTC companies featuring stock quotes, financial highlights and corporate profiles. Online editions of the Japan Economic Almanac Online edition of the Nikkei Weekly. Recently the Nikkei Newspaper Archive (1876-1956) has been added to the database.

Comprehensive coverage of national news, current events, economic developments and cultural events in Russia from official sources

AllAfrica's news and information archive, dating from 1996, is a growing collection containing over two million articles and documents from allAfrica.com, the leading Africa information source on the Internet. AllAfrica collects and aggregates articles from 130 African news organizations, as well as documents and releases from several hundred governmental, nongovernmental and international institutions, plus reporting from the award winning AllAfrica news team.

EMIS delivers news, company and financial data direct from more than 70 emerging markets in Asia, Latin America, Central and Eastern Europe, the Middle East and Africa. It gives emerging market specialists worldwide one-stop Internet access to mission-critical information straight from the local markets and from over 10,500 publications. Whether they are looking for current news, hard-to-get company and industry information, financial markets data or macroeconomic analysis, EMIS offers the definitive solution for convenient access of emerging markets business intelligence.

Updated daily, our sources are categorized, archived, indexed and fully searchable via a uniquely intuitive and customizable interface. Supporting 20 languages, the service is designed for speed and ease of use. Over 2250 institutional clients rely on EMIS every day to research companies, investigate industries and track developments that impact their business.

The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2020 ('EHA') is a fully searchable complete facsimile edition of The Economist. The database covers 8,000 issues and more than 600,0000 pages, offering full-colour images, multiple search indexes, topic and area supplements and surveys, together with a gallery of front covers (via the browse by date option). Maps, images and financial tables can be searched separately. Selected financial tables published after May 1983 can be exported using links in the blue box to left of the page image.

The Financial Times Historical Archive provides an online, fully-searchable facsimile run of the London edition of the FT, from its first issue in 1888 to the end of 2016. Each item in this complete collection is categorized by both subject and topic, with every individual article, advertisement and market listing included and searchable for retrieval individually and in the context of the full page and issue of the day.

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Report has been the United States' principal record of political and historical open source intelligence for nearly 70 years.

Oxford has access is to the following geographical collections:

Middle East and North Africa, 1974–1987

Near East and South Asia, 1987–1996

South Asia, 1980–1987

Sub-Saharan Africa, 1974–1980 and Africa, 1987–1996

Eastern Europe, 1974–1996

Latin America, 1974-1996

Soviet Union, 1974-1991

Central Eurasia, 1992-1996

Western Europe, 1974-1996

The original mission of the FBIS was to monitor, record, transcribe, and translate intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, official news services, and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories. FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 constitutes a unique archive of transcripts of foreign broadcasts and news that provides insight into the second half of the 20th century; many of these materials are firsthand reports of events as they occurred.

FBIS Daily Reports, 1974–1996 consist of translated broadcasts, news agency transmissions, newspapers, periodicals, and government statements from nations around the globe. These media sources were monitored in their languages of origin, translated into English, and issued by an agency of the US government.

Founded in 1821 as the Manchester Guardian, becoming The Guardian in 1959 (and moving to London in 1964), The Guardian is an important British newspaper which gives readers online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past 200 years. Originally the voice of Manchester’s liberal industrial middle classes, in the past fifty years its readership has included an increasing proportion of public sector workers, and the newspaper has a reputation for following a liberal/ social democratic political stance. Ownership of the newspaper passed to a trust in 1936.

Alternative names: NYT ; The New York Times with Index
 

This archive of The New York Times in ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full page and article images with searchable full text, from the first issue up to 2018.

Researchers can search through the complete digital edition of The Times (London), using keyword searching and hit-term highlighting to retrieve full facsimile images of either a specific article or a complete page. The entire newspaper is captured, with all articles, advertisements and illustrations/photos divided into categories to facilitate searching.

The Times Digital Archive 1785-2019 contains over 12 million articles as of 2021.