Skip to main content

Economics: Getting Started

The purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers at the University of Oxford seeking support in Economics, although students and researchers from other fields may find it useful. Use this guide to find out about printed and online resources, including ebooks, ejournals, databases, and special collections for Economics.

Finding ebooks for Economics

Oxford has a wide range of printed books for Economics, including the main collection in the Social Science Library. It also offers an ever-increasing access to e-books collections.

For more detailed information on our ebook collections visit the ebooks page of this guide.

Economics journals and working papers

The Journals and working papers page of this guide presents subscription collections and platforms, which offer access to full-text periodicals and industry reports; it also provides information on working and research papers, a valuable source of speeding up dissemination and providing access to early stage research in Economics.

If you want to search for and browse all journals the University subscribes to, you can do so through e-Journals A-Z platform, a full browsable list of e-journals available at Oxford, or SOLO Library Catalogue.

Databases

The Data and statistics page of this guide introduces a selection of sources available for researchers and students at the University of Oxford. To see more sources, and find out about services for those who need to make secondary use of statistics and data, go to the the Bodleian Data Library.

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases that can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more.

You can browse Databases A-Z, a list of Oxford's online databases, or search all Oxford databases, along with other resources, on SOLO Library Catalogue.

News sources and archives

The News sources and archives page introduces current online news sources, subscriptions, analytical materials, and historical periodicals archives available to the Bodleian readers.

Online materials can be searched for or browsed via SOLO Library catalogue, e-Journals A=Z, and Databases A-Z.

Browse or search SOLO if you are looking for hard copies of newspapers held in the Bodleian libraries.

Subject and Data Librarian

John Southall's picture
John Southall
Contact:
Bodleian Social Science Library
Manor Road, Oxford, OX1 3UQ
+44 (0)1865 2-85936
Website

Key libraries

SSL

Social Science Library (SSL)

One of the University's busiest lending and reference libraries supports students and staff in the Social Sciences Division, offering a wide range of workspaces, printing & IT facilities, borrowing services, and research support.