Skip to main content

Socio-Legal Studies: Getting Started

Subjects: Criminology, Law, Sociology

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying socio-legal studies at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about sources, commentary and research methods for socio-legal studies, sociological jurisprudence, law & society including ebooks, ejournals, and databases.

Related Guides

Meeting of Minds

Socio-Legal Studies: quick start

Just three examples of books available online to holders of an Oxford SSO which might help get one's studies going.  The third example illustrates a work where there are print copies available in both the Law Library and the Social Science Library.

Use SOLO to find ebooks - for some hints and tips on doing this successfully see the guide below:

Databases can be found by their title/name or by subject coverage using the Databases A-Z search below. Further guidance on specific databases is available on other pages in this guide.

Some examples of the databases likely to be assist your research:

Ejournals by subject area can be found using 

The Bodleian Social Science Library (SSL) houses the research and teaching collections of the former Centre for Criminology Library  which reflects the research interests of the Centre since its foundation in 1976.

The Library is on the ground floor of the Manor Road Building, Manor Rd,  OX1 3UQ. 

The Social Science Library has a lending collection.

The Social Science Library's book collection is arranged using Library of Congress - the guide below will help your shelf browsing in some topics which may be of particular interest

Use the SSL's official website (below) to check details of opening hours, lending policies and other services

Note that the Law Library is a reference collection - there is no lending collection, no-one may borrow books.

The book and jouranl collection extends over 4 floors - each one is open to readers, and accessible by staircases and a lift. The entrance (and exit) is on level 2, which means there is one floor above, and two below.  On the ground floor there is also the Bodleian Official Papers Collection.