Oxford LibGuides: Social Policy and Intervention: Home

Finding books for Social Policy and Intervention

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for Social Policy and Intervention and printed books, including the main social science collection in the Social Science Library. For more detailed info about our book collections visit our books page of this guide.

SOLO
Search SOLO, the University's resource discovery tool, for print and ebooks at Oxford. You can search by author, title or subject and limit to a specific library or online resources.
SOLO user guide
If you need help with SOLO, take a look at this guide for tips on searching, managing results and using your SOLO account.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many bibliographic databases. They can be used to locate journal articles, conference proceedings, books, patents, images, data and more. You can find some of the key databases for Social Policy and Intervention below, but take a look at the j ournals page and other pages of this guide for more titles.

Scopus
SCOPUS is a multidisciplinary collection which has over 2 million journal articles.
Scopus is a bibliographic database for science, medicine and some social sciences. It covers over 25,000 journals and over 300,000 books from over 7,000 publishers worldwide, providing access to over 90 million records going back as far as the 18th century.
Web of Science
Web of Science is a multidisciplinary database with a large social science collection including many Social Policy journals.
Alternative names: WoK ; WoS ; Web of Knowledge. Provides access to and cross-searching of databases in the science, technology, engineering, mathematics, medicine, social sciences and humanities. It includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Data Citation Index. Also provides access to Journal Citation Reports for sciences and social sciences.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection‎
Proquest Social Science Premium searches a broad range of social science related academic journals and other academic sources of information.
This collection provides access to databases covering international literature in social sciences, including politics, public policy, sociology, social work, anthropology, criminology, linguistics, library science, and education. Featured databases include IBSS, Sociological Abstracts and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts. Together, they provide abstracts, indexing and full-text coverage of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and more.
Included databases:
Criminology Collection
Education Collection
International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS)
Library & Information Science Collection
Linguistics Collection
Politics Collection
Social Science Database
PsycINFO
PsycINFO provides access to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioural, and health sciences.
PsycINFO provides citations with abstracts to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioural, and health sciences. The database includes material of relevance to psychologists, students, and professionals in related fields such as psychiatry, management, business, and education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work. PsycINFO contains more than 2 million records spanning 1806 to the present. Journal coverage includes material selected from approximately 2,000 periodicals. Chapter and book coverage includes worldwide English-language material published from 1987 to the present; however, there is a substantial number of records covering books published earlier. Dissertations constitute approximately 12% of the database. APA is currently adding approximately 8,100,000 references annually through weekly updates.
PubMed
PubMed provides a database of publications predominately focused upon biomedical sciences. Material covered in the database includes journal articles, conference proceedings, case reports, clinical trial reports and systematic reviews.
PubMed provides a publically accessible database of publications predominately focused upon biomedical sciences. Material covered in the database includes journal articles, conference proceedings, case reports, clinical trial reports and systematic reviews.
PubMed includes MEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE as well as:
* The out-of-scope citations (e.g., articles on plate tectonics or astrophysics) from certain MEDLINE journals, primarily general science and chemistry journals, for which the life sciences articles are indexed for MEDLINE.
* Citations that precede the date that a journal was selected for MEDLINE indexing.
* Some additional life science journals that submit full text to PubMedCentral and receive a qualitative review by NLM.
We have linked our e-Journals to PubMed. This means that when you view an article on this version of PubMed you will know whether you can read it straight away and without having to check on a different website.

Databases A-Z
A full, browsable list of Oxford's online databases.

Librarian

Andrew Kernot

Email Me

Contact:

Social Science Library,
Manor Road,
Oxford,
OX1 3UQ

01865 271072

Subjects: Geography, Geography and the Environment, Geography and the Environment - General

Related guides

Psychology

Key libraries

Social Science Library
The Social Science Library (SSL) is one of the University of Oxford's busiest lending and reference libraries, supporting staff and students in the Social Sciences Division. We offer a wide range of workspaces, as well as borrowing services, printing and IT facilities and research support.

Reading lists for Social Policy and Intervention

Reading lists on Canvas
Readings lists for Oxford Social Policy and Intervention students are available in Canvas (SSO required)

Social Policy and Intervention: Home

Purpose of this guide