Skip to main content

Criminology: Getting started

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying criminology at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about books and online resources for criminology, including ebooks, ejournals and bibliographic databases.

Finding books for criminology

Oxford has a wide range of ebooks for criminology and printed books, which can be searched for via SOLO. The print collection is held in two (neighbouring) Bodleian Libraries - the Social Science Library (Manor Rd Building OX1 3UQ) which principally supports the graduate taught courses in criminology, and the Law Library (St Cross Building OX1 3UR) which supports undergraduate taught courses in criminal law and justice , and researchers in criminology. For more detailed info about our book collections visit our books page in this guide

Please Note: Until 6 October 2021 holders of an Oxford SSO have online access to a number of OUP student textbooks via Law Trove. Hover over the info icon to see the list of criminological titles LawTrove includes

Key journals

A lot of journals, as well as being available in print, are available electronically and can be searched via SOLO or eJournals A-Z. Below are a couple of the top journals but you can find a longer list on the journals page of this guide, along with online indexing and abstracting tools to help you discover articles published in them.

Key databases

Oxford subscribes to many  databases, while others are on the free web. You can find some of the key databases for criminology below. If your area of research involves legislation, case law and aspects of the criminal law, practice and procedure, take a look at the legal databases page on the Law Library website.

Further guidance on pages in this guide or other Bodleian online guides

Related guides

Key libraries

Reading lists & course materials