Skip to Main Content

Parliamentary Papers, Proceedings and Departmental Papers : UK: Scotland

Useful links

Scotland: keep up to date

The Scottish Parliament is the devolved national legislature of Scotland. It is a democratically elected body consisting of 129 members, known as Members of the Scottish Parliament  (MSPs). Elections are held every four years. The Scottish Office was a department of the United Kingdom Government from 1895 to 1999. The Department was under control of the Secretary of State for Scotland. From 1999 the responsabilities moved to the Scottish Executive with the establishment of the Scottish Parliament. Following the Parliamentary elections of 2007,  the Scottish National Party changed the name of the Scottish Executive to the Scottish Government.

Parliamentary and departmental publications

In areas such as defence, for example, Scotland still comes under UK sovereignty. So publications are still produced by the UK Parliament and Government relevant to Scotland. Please see the 'Parliamentary Papers 2000-' tab to access current material.