Oxford LibGuides: Parliamentary Papers, Proceedings and Departmental Papers : UK: Hansard/Parliamentary debates

Useful links

Parliamentary Questions
Freely available. House of Commons Information Office fact sheet
All answers (and the original questions), whether transcribed from the Chamber or recorded from a printed format, are set out in The Official Report (Hansard)
The Official Report (Hansard) FACTSHEET
Freely available. House of Commons Information Office factsheet. (Archive copy)

Cobbett's Parliamentary History

HeinOnline: For remote access please use your Single Sign On. Select the 'Catalog' tab and search for 'parliamentary history of England' as below

Free access is available through Google e-books. Please see links below.

Hansard

The Bodleian Law Library has a full set of debates in print format, which are situated on the ground floor of the Bodleian Law Library.

Hansard: digital collections

Important note on coverage

Please note for complete coverage of Hansard Series 1 to Series 6 please use the UK Parliamentary Papers database. For remote access please use the Single Sign On password.

UK Parliament Hansard and Millbank Hansard do not have complete coverage of Series 1 to Series 6. Please see links below.

Please see coverage for both here: https://api.parliament.uk/historic-hansard/volumes/index.html

UK Paliament Hansard
Series 1 to date

Feely available. Please be aware this is does not have complete coverage. Please see: https://api.parliament.uk/historic-hansard/volumes/index.html for coverage.
Hansard 1800-2009 : U.K. Parliamentary Papers database
Complete coverage Series 1 to 2003/2004. University members need to login for remote access. On the initial search interface select 'Search for debates' which is underneath the main search box. This will limit you to searching the debates collection.
Hansard 1803-2005 (Millbank systems)
Freely available. Please be aware this is does not have complete coverage. Please see: https://api.parliament.uk/historic-hansard/volumes/index.html

Hansard 1803-2005 full text available. Search by citation, MP, subject, date, constituency, bill discussed etc
Records of early debates: U.K. Parliamentary Papers database
University members need to login for remote access.
Parliamentary Register 1774-1780
Parliamentary Register 1780-1796
Parliamentary Register 1796-1802
Parliamentary Register 1802-1805
The History and Proceedings of the House of Commons
1660-1743
The History and Proceedings of the House of Lords 1660-1742

Other papers

Vote Bundle
The daily working documents of the House of Commons are known collectively as the “Vote Bundle”. It consists of a set of papers, containing information about the business of the day, the transactions of the previous day’s sitting, and notices for future days. These papers
play an important role in informing Members of Parliament of what is happening in the House of Commons and are the only authoritative source for most items.
Written questions and answers
Available from July 11th 2014
Written questions allow Members of Parliament to ask government ministers for information on the work, policy and activities of government departments.
Historical written answers can be found in Hansard.
House of Commons division lists, 1836-1910 [microform]

Division lists

You can view votes 'ayes and noes' by MP or party lines from 2006 on the UK Parliament Hansard site: For example see the results for the Offender Management Bill from December 2006