Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library..
Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Oxford Law Faculty Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Books in this collection must be asked for at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Please remember to bring your Oxford University Card or your Bodleian Reader's Card when you come to the Desk.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on the particular course.
The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford University's online resource discovery tool.
For those wishing to learn more about using searches, we recommend the following:
The principal collection of legal philosophy/jurisprudence books are also shelved on Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library. An area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning KL.
Introduction to the English Legal System by 
Effective legal research. by 
Glanville Williams : learning the law by 
OSCOLA: Oxford University Standard for Citation of Legal Authorities by 
The Oxford Handbook of Legal Studies by 
The Oxford Handbook of Empirical Legal Research by Halsbury's Laws of England
This is a multi volume work which covers the law of England and Wales. It is a statement of the current law along with law report and legislation citations and is a great place to start legal research. Halsbury's Laws (and related services) are available in hard copy at KZ1 to KZ3 on Level 2 of the Law Library, and via Lexis +UK for holders of an Oxford SSO.
English Legal Dictionaries
Holders of an Oxford SSO have online access to
A Dictionary of Law by English legal dictionaries in the Bodleian Law Library are at shelfmark KL on Level 2, the floor at which you enter the Law Library. Below is a selection.
Jowitt's Dictionary of English law by 
Stroud's judicial dictionary of words and phrases. 10th ed.When you are studying English law, most of the books of interest to you will be shelved on Level 2, the entrance level to the Law Bod.
Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Oxford Law Faculty Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Books in the Law Reserve collection must be asked for at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Please remember to bring your Oxford University Card or your Bodleian Reader's Card when you come to the Desk.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on the particular course.
Legal databases and book platforms providing commentary for holders of an Oxford SSO.
The books provided by Lexis and Westlaw are often referred to as practitioners' texts. The working lawyer is their primary audience. They are indispensible - but when learning the law, textbooks written with the student in mind will be needed in addition. In addition there are advanced or academic legal treatises.
On Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, an area of the open shelf collection has books with shelf marks beginning General.
This is where you will find comparative studies, and works surveying the response to legal problems in two or more jurisdictions.
If all the countries being compared are (or were) members of the Commonwealth, the book should have a shelf mark beginning Cw Gen.
Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Oxford Law Faculty Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Books in the Law Reservecollection must be asked for at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Please remember to bring your Oxford University Card or your Bodleian Reader's Card when you come to the Desk.
Comparative law books in the Reserve Collection have shelf marks beginning KB.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on the particular course.
Liability of the crown by Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Oxford Law Faculty Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Books in the Law Reserve collection must be asked for at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2. Please remember to bring your Oxford University Card or your Bodleian Reader's Card when you come to the Desk.
International law books in the Reserve Collection have shelf marks beginning KC.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on the particular course.
The main collection of international books are on Level 3 one floor above the entrance level to the library.This floor is accessed by both stairs and a public lift. There is reader seating on this floor, and a PCAS machine.
Public international law books have shelf marks beginning Internat
For example the international protection of human rights are at Internat 570
Private International (Conflict of Law) titles are in a separate collection on Level 3 with shelf marks beginning Private Int.
A Conflict of Laws Companion: essays in honour of Adrian Briggs by Private international law is considered more in the following Law Bod guide
Most of the books relevant to the study of this topic will be on Level 2. Most will be in the collection with shelf marks beginning Legal Hist.
The development and the history of the common law of England is the subject of special Law Bod guide
Further guidance on sources and commentary on specific topics or subjects of law are available in separate guides:
