Skip to Main Content

United Kingdom Law: Home

Purpose of this guide

This guide is intended for students and researchers studying the law and legal systems of England & Wales & United Kingdom at the University of Oxford, although students and researchers from any field may find it useful.

Use this guide to find out about sources and commentary for the jurisdictions of the United Kingdom & England and Wales including ebooks, ejournals, and databases.

Law of England & Wales and the United Kingdom

For holders of an Oxford SSO the following are the principal online resources at their disposal. Both provide online access to legislation, case law, journal articles and a range of practitioners' texts.

Online resources available to anyone with access to the internet

The majority of our current collection of journals and books about English & Welsh/UK law are on open shelf on Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library. The Books are arranged by subject/topic in the collection with shelf marks beginning KB to KN.
KZ is the quick reference collection: Halsbury's services, The Digest, Current Law services, Forms and Precedents.

Looking for a Reading List title?

When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. To read one (or more) of these, please come to the Enquiry Desk with your University or Bodleian Reader's Card and ask for the titles you need there.
Note. Books in the Law Reserve collection are available to all categories of readers, not just those on the particular course.

The law reports are also on Level 2, with shelf marks beginning Cw UK 120.

English law journals are also on Level 2,  arranged alphabetically by title with shelf marks beginning Cw UK 300

If your research has inter or cross disciplinary elements or dimensions, SOLO may reveal other Bodleian Libraries have material which would support your studies. 
In most cases, if you have a current Oxford University Card or a Bodleian Reader's Card, you will already be able to access these libraries - however, please do check information on the other Libraries' own websites, particularly their location & opening hours.

Other UK Jurisdictions

This guide is mainly concerned with law which applies in the jurisdiction of England and Wales. Those elements which are United Kingdom law will apply also to Scotland and Northern Ireland. Depending on your research focus you might find the guides below useful.

UK Legal Research books

Below are books on legal research.  For books and resources on the English and Wales legal system see the Legal System tab.

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Kate Matthews
Bodleian Law Library
St Cross Building
Manor Road
01865 271463
Subjects: Law