Use the tabs above to understand how the Law Bod's collection is arranged. There is an Enquiry Desk on Level 2, just as you enter the main Reading Room: please do come and have a word if you are having any difficulty in using the library.
The Law Library's collection is fully catalogued on SOLO, Oxford University's online resource discovery tool.
The term for the "geographic" delimiter to add to your subject search has changed down the years.
Using European Union will bring back the recently published books.
To find older works try searches also with European Union Countries. If your interest goes further back than 1993 use also
European Community countries and European Economic Community countries
For those wishing to learn more about using searches, we recommend the following:
Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. Please ask for the books which have this shelf mark at the Enquiry Desk on Level 2, the entrance level of the Law Library. Please be prepared to show your Oxford University or Bodleian Library Card.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers (not just those on the particular course),
European Union law books in the Reserve Collection have shelf marks beginning KW.
Wyatt and Dashwood's European Union Law by The current collection of books on European Union law is shelved on Level 3, one floor above the level at which you enter the library. The floor is accessible via either stairs or the lift.
The books have shelf marks beginning Euro Comm. There is is no subject classification within the collection, the books being arranged alphabetically by the first names author/editor/
EU Law by 
The European Union Legal Order : volume 1 The European Union Legal Order by 
European Contract Law by 
EU Values Before the Court of Justice by Print collection
The majority of the current collection of books with a comparative law focus, and world surveys, are on Level 2 the level at which you enter the library. The shelf mark of this collection begins General 510. There is no subject classification within this section; the books are arranged by author/editor.
If the shelf mark of a book you wish to read ends (sec coll) this indicates it is a superseded edition. It remains available for reading, but you will find it on the Ground Floor (Level 0)
Copyright Exhaustion : law and policy in the United States and the European Union by Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. The Reserve Collection is on Level 2, the level at which you enter the Law Library, but is shelved as a separate run in a distinct bookcase. Please ask at the Enquiry Desk for directions when you are next in the Law Library.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers (not just those on the particular course),
Comparative law books in the Reserve Collection have shelf marks beginning KB.
Looking for a Reading List title?
When you search SOLO for books on your Reading List you may find that the location is shown as Law Library Reserve Collection. The Reserve Collection is also on Level 2 but are shelved in a discrete run. Please ask at the Enquiry Desk for directions when you are next in the Law Library.
Note. The books in the Reserve Collection are available to all categories of readers (not just those on the particular course),
International law books in the Reserve Collection have shelf marks beginning KC.
The majority of the books relating to public international law are on Level 3, one floor above the entrance level to the library. Their shelf marks begin Internat. There is a broad subject arrangement to this collection. See the foot of this box.
After these public international law books there is the private international law collection. These books have shelf marks beginning Private Int. They are not further divided by subject, but arranged alphabetically by last name of author or editor.
International Law and the European Union by 
Punitive Damages in Private International Law : lessons for the European Union by The books are arranged according to the following scheme
Internat 500 General and theory
Internat 510 History
Internat 520 Title to territory
Internat 530 The state (as a legal entity)
Internat 535 Dependent states and special regimes
Internat 540 State succession
Internat 545 Recognition
Internat 550 Servitudes
Internat 555 State responsibility
Internat 560 Jurisdiction of states
Internat 565 Nationality
Internat 570 Human rights
Internat 575 European Court of Human Rights: literature
Internat 580 International crimes
Internat 590 Economic law
Internat 600 Atomic energy
Internat 610 Social legislation and organisation
Internat 620 Transport and communications (except sea, air and space)
Internat 630 Law of the sea and waterways
Internat 640 Air law
Internat 650 Space law
Internat 660 International relations
Internat 670 Treaties (theory etc.)
International organisations
Internat 680 History and general
Internat 681 General and regional political organisations
Internat 685 League of Nations: general
Internat 687 United Nations: general
International disputes and arbitration
Internat 700 Peace and disarmament
Internat 710 General and theory
Internat 720 International courts and tribunals: general
Internat 725 Permanent Court of International Justice and the International Court of Justice: literature
Internat 730 Permanent Court of Arbitration: literature
Internat 740 Individual arbitration tribunals: literature
Internat 750 War and armed conflict
Internat 760 Termination of war (including specific peace treaties)
After the end of Internat, there is the private international law collection. These books have shelf marks beginning Private Int. They are not further divided by subject, but arranged alphabetically by last name of author or editor.
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the print or ebook you are looking for, you can make a recommendation by completing the form below (Oxford Single-Sign On required).
If the Bodleian Libraries don't have the book you are looking for, we may be able to source it through Oxford's inter-library loan service.