Oxford LibGuides: European Union Law: Brexit

Brexit Negotiations

The Law and Politics of Brexit by Federico Fabbrini (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 9780198811763
Publication Date: 2017-12-19
Print copy at KM54.FAB 2017 if preferred
Negotiating Brexit by John Armour; Horst Eidenmüller
Call Number: Euro Comm 510 A733.5a
ISBN: 9781509919987
Publication Date: 2017
This volume brings together leading commentators to examine three crucial questions on the risk, the negotiating framework and the process as it was happening.

Prime Minister's letter to President of the European Council
Prime Minister Theresa May has written to European Council President Donald Tusk.
Published 20 March 2019. (From the Prime Minister's Office, 10 Downing Street and The Rt Hon Theresa May MP).
Legal Opinion on Joint Instrument and Unilateral Declaration concerning the Withdrawal Agreement
The Attorney General's letter to the Prime Minister setting out his legal opinion on the Joint Instrument and Unilateral Declaration concerning the Withdrawal Agreement. Published 12 March 2019 by the Department for Exiting the European Union.
Statement to the House by the Speaker, John Bercow
Statement by the Speaker at 15.33 on !8 march 2019 quotes Erskine May: “A motion or an amendment which is the same, in substance, as a question which has been decided during a session may not be brought forward again during that same session.”
more...less...
Written text available here https://hansard.parliament.uk/commons/2019-03-18/debates/AB031E78-C906-4833-9ACF-291998FAC0E1/Speaker%E2%80%99SStatement
House of Commons Debate 29 January 2019
On Tuesday 29 January, MPs debated a motion tabled following the Prime Minister's written statement of 21 January 2019. Two amendments were approved by the House of Commons, indicating that a majority of MPs were against exiting the EU without a deal, and against the Northern Irish backstop in its current form.
Debate on Section 13 of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018
Available to watch on Parliament TV: Debate on Section 13 of the European Union (Withdrawal) Act 2018
The Repeal Bill: White Paper
Cm 9446 sets out the government plans to introduce a 'Great Repeal Bill', to convert the ‘acquis’ – the body of European legislation – into UK law at the moment that the European Communities Act is repealed.
more...less...
The Bill had its first reading under the title European Union (Withdrawal) Bill.
Brexit: research and analysis
Research and analysis from the UK Parliament's libraries and committees on issues related to leaving the European Union.
Brexit Impact Studies (European Parliament)
Impact assessments and studies on Brexit commissioned by the European Parliament from experts across a broad range of policy areas.
EU Law At Liverpool videos
Academic commentary on Brexit issues from Liverpool University.

Northern Ireland Protocol

EU exit and the Northern Ireland Protocol
Information provided by nidirect, the official government website for Northern Ireland citizens.
Northern Ireland Protocol
House of Commons Library Research Briefing, published 17 May 2022.
Protocol on Ireland and Northern Ireland
EU Commission web pages.
more...less...
Updates and factsheets on the Protocol from the European Commission.
Statement by Minister Coveney on Foreign Secretary Liz Truss’s statement of intention to table legislation to dis-apply parts of the Protocol on Ireland/Northern Ireland
Press release: Irish Government Department of Foreign Affairs. 17 May 2022.

Brexit: legislation and international agreements

Agreements reached between the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the European Union
Official website
European Union (Withdrawal Agreement) Act 2020
Official website
EU Exit Web Archive [11pm GMT on 31 December 2020]
This "provides a comprehensive and official UK reference point for EU law as it stood at the end of the implementation period." See More for further information
more...less...
The EU Exit Web Archive contains a wide selection of documents taken from EUR-Lex (the European legislation website), including Treaties, legislative documents, the Official Journal of the EU, case law and other supporting materials, and judgements of the European Court of Justice in English, French and German. This collection contains all content published up to the completion of the implementation period, at 11pm GMT on 31 December 2020.
Brexit: The Legal Implications
Access requires Oxford SSO. Part of Practical Law
Consequences of Brexit
EU Commission guidance for specific sectors

The UK-EU Withdrawal Agreement: A Commentary by Manuel Kellerbauer (Editor); Eugenia Dumitriu-Segnana (Editor); Thomas Liefländer (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 9780192894601
Publication Date: 2022
Print copy is at KM54.LIE 2021
The UK's Withdrawal from the EU : A Legal Analysis by Michael Dougan
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 9780198833475
Publication Date: 2021
Print copies at KM54.DOU 2021 if preferred
The withdrawal agreement The Law and Politics of Brexit: Volume II by Federico Fabbrini (Editor)
Call Number: Holders of an Oxford SSO can read this online via title link.
ISBN: 9780198848356
Publication Date: 2021
Print copy at KM54.FAB 2020 if preferred
The Trade and Cooperation Agreement The Law and Politics of Brexit: Volume V by Federico Fabbrini (Editor)
Call Number: Open access title available to all online via title link
ISBN: 9780198908289
Publication Date: 2024-08-02

Brexit: the end of the Dublin III Regulation in the UK
Open access. Research briefing by House of Commons Library Monday, 21 December, 2020
Brexit: EU-UK relationship
EUR-Lex webpage
more...less...
Use this page to find::
1. Search link for Brexit related-documents on EUR-Lex;
2. Key documents related to Brexit;
3. Summaries of EU legislation related to Brexit;
4. EU documents about the UK and its position in the EU;
5. Links to other EU web pages about Brexit
EU Exit Web Archive
Brexit information from UK National Archives
more...less...
A comprehensive and authoritative source for EU law as it stood at 11 pm on 31 December 2020
Analysis 1 of the Revised Brexit Withdrawal Agreement: Overview
Professor Steve Peers, University of Essex
Brexit and the Future of the European Union: The Case for Constitutional Reforms Remote access requires Oxford SSO. 2020 OUP title by Federico Fabbrini ABSTRACT This book examines how the European Union has changed during Brexit and because of Brexit, while also reflecting on the developments of the EU besides Brexit and beyond Brexit. It argues that the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the EU—the first ever case of disintegration since the start of the European integration process—creates an urgent need to reform the EU. In fact, while the EU institutions and its Member States have remained united in their negotiations vis-à-vis the UK, Brexit has created transitional problems for the EU, and exposed other serious fissures in its system of government
Oxford business Law blog
Academic commentary on Brexit issues from members of the Oxford University Law Faculty..
more...less...
A series of blogposts by members of the Oxford Law Faculty on legal aspects of Brexit.
How will Brexit affect you?
Commentary from Hogan Lovells.
Beyond Brexit
Commentary from Slaughter and May
Brick Court Chambers Brexit Law Blog
Delegation of the European Union to the United Kingdom
As the United Kingdom left the European Union, the European Commission Representation in the UK ceased all its activities as of 1 February 2020.

As is the case in countries that are not Member States of the European Union, the EU opened an EU Delegation to the United Kingdom, under the responsibility of the High Representative of the European Union for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy.

In agreement with UK authorities, the EU Delegation to the UK opened on 1 February 2020 in the Europe House in London.
EUNIC
Created by EUNIC LONDON, the network of the cultural institutes and embassies from the EU member states, in collaboration with the Representation of the European Commission in London
The UK’s EU Retained Law Bill
Scroll down for a summary of a talk by Professor Catherine Barnard to the European Union Databases user Group, 12 June 2023.

Brexit: Three Days is a Long Time in Politics
An EDC Librarian's 'take' on the first three days after the triggering of Article 50.