Oxford LibGuides: European Union Law: Online resources

Databases for holders of an Oxford SSO

Oxford Encyclopedia of EU Law
The Oxford Encyclopedia of EU Law (OEEUL) is a new product within the Oxford Public International Law family. Providing original high-level analysis of European Union (EU) law by specialized distinguished contributors, articles from this encyclopedia address a focused range of subjects that seek to provide the best coverage of the essence, character, development, and history of European Union law.

Some "UK" legal databases, Westlaw Edge UK and Lexis+ UK provide som EU material .For example Westlaw Edge UK gives online access to the Common Market Law Reports (CMLR)

Westlaw Edge UK
Click on the EU link on the home page to go to a dedicated search screen
Alternative name: West Law UK ; Westlaw UK

Westlaw is provided through a generous donation by Weil Gotshal & Manges LLP
Westlaw is a large database of UK, US and international legal materials including cases, legislation and journal articles.
Coverage:
•UK statutes, statutory instruments and law reports
•England and Wales law reports
•US federal and state legislation and law reports
•Australian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Canadian federal and state legislation and law reports
•Hong Kong SAR law reports and laws
•European Union legislation and law reports
•UK and US law journals and texts
•Common Law Library and over 200 books published by Sweet & Maxwell (Thomson Reuters)
Because of licencing restrictions this database is not available to "Walk-in" users of the library.
Lexis+ UK
The Cases search screen will search across EU case law from 1954 to date
Alternative names:Lexis ; LexisLibrary ; Lexis Library ; Lexis International

Lexis+ includes extensive primary and secondary legal materials from the UK, EU, USA and many other jurisdictions. It is the only online source for the full text of the All England Law Reports and Halsbury’s Laws. International content can be accessed by following the “International” link on the home page. UK legal news and newspapers are also included
vLex Justis
Sponsorship: The Bodleian Law Library’s subscription is generously supported by Hogan Lovells. ## This resource requires you to log in with your Oxford SSO again at the homepage.
vLex Justis offers access to a range of law reports, transcripts and legislation from the UK, Ireland, Australia, New Zealand, Canada, the Caribbean, and the EU. For UK case research it has extensive information relating to where cases have been cited, etc including a precedent map.

In addition it includes the full text of the following: Aspinall's Maritime Law Cases, English Reports, State Trials, CCH Tax Cases, Immigration Appeal Reports, Inquest Law Reports, Mental Health Reports, Session Cases Archive, Irish Reports & Digest, Jersey Law Reports, Bermuda Law Reports, Cayman Islands Law Reports, The Singapore Law Reports, and the International Law Reports. Also included in the service is Justis Human Rights.

To access personalisation features please set up an individual profile on the platform using a unique id and password.

Please note that apart from the titles listed above, vLex Justis includes some abstracted materials for which you will need to refer to other online services or hard copy to obtain the full text.

vLex Justis includes content formerly available via JustisOne.

EU law online summaries and guides

The ABC of European Union law
Free resource. By Professor Klaus-Dieter Borchardt, published by EU Bookshop
About the European Union:
Official website. Answers basic questions: What is the EU? Find out more about what the European Union is, its history and its countries. Facts and figures about living in the EU.
Guide to EU decision-making after the Treaty of Lisbon
Free resource. Unofficial Statewatch publication by Steve Peers, Professor of Law, University of Essex with additional material by Tony Bunyan
Applying EU law
From the European Commission.
Legal order - General information
Official website Information from the European Judicial Network in Civil and Commercial Matters

EIA Archive site

European Information Association (historic website)
EIA ceased to exist at the end of 2012

Free resources

There are extensive free resources for EU law

EUR-Lex
Official legal information database of the EU. A multilingual database of EU documentation, hosted on Europa. Sector 6 covers case law
Europa
Official portal of the EU. A source for official documentation, including: documents of the EU institutions; links to agencies and bodies; news; activities; publications, including the OJ on EUR-Lex in the official languages from 1998, annual reports
European Parliament’s Legislative Observatory OEIL
Official website. Source for preparatory documents (click the Procedures tab to search)
Eureka: resource discovery service of the Libraries of the Council of the European Union
Includes OA collection of think tank papers on EU and international affairs
Eurostat
Not a legal database, but it may be useful. Eurostat provides the EU with statistics that enable comparisons between countries and regions. A source for statistics on many sectors, including:
general statistics; economy and finance; population and social conditions; industry; trade and services; agriculture and fisheries; transport; environment and energy; research and development.
IPEX: the platform for EU interparliamentary exchange
Source of information on scrutiny of EU law by national parliaments
EU Lawmaking procedures (Pre-Lex)
Official website. A Commission database, which monitors the decision-making process between institutions
European Sources Online (ESO)
European Sources Online [ESO] is a free-access database and information service. It aims to support users in understanding Europe and beyond. It brings together a comprehensive and curated set of sources and information, which are able to inform people holding different levels of expertise.
Historical Archives of the European Union
Archive of European Integration (AEI)
Open Access repository from University of Pittsburgh "The Archive of European Integration (AEI) is a free to everyone electronic repository and archive for research materials on the topic of European integration and unification. Its focus is the post-War development, activities, and foreign relations of the European Coal and Steel Community (ECSC), the European Atomic Energy Community (Euratom), the European Economic Community (EEC), the European Community (EC), and the European Union (EU).The AEI collects certain types of independently-produced research materials and official European Community/European Union documents."
more...less...
The Archive of European Integration contains papers from approximately 40 private research organizations, listed at Contributing Institutions. These documents can be found at Browse by Journals and Series and Browse by Conferences. The scanning and deposit of documents received as part of the EU Delegation collection in Washington DC was completed at the end of 2019. Beginning in 2020, virtually all new content added to the AEI will consist of papers from the private research organizations referenced above. Nevertheless, we are always on the lookout for new, relevant papers from scholars worldwide to add to the AEI.
Publications Office of the European Union
For EU official publications