Oxford LibGuides: Disability History Resources: Theses and Dissertations

How to find Theses and Dissertations

Getting started
Suggested Theses

Looking for specific theses?

If you have the citation for a specific thesis that you would like to consult the first place to look would be online collections of theses such as:

British Library EThos, the British Library's service for downloading of theses from UK universities (note: not all universities are partners, including notably Oxford and Cambridge). Search in Advanced Search and filter by Theses.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global (selectively digitised, largely from 1997 onwards but with some earlier content too). More than 2.3million entries, the database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 graduate schools and universities in North America and from around the globe. The database includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Coverage: 1861 - Current

However, if you have no luck with these it is a good idea to get in touch with the institution that the researcher was affiliated with when the thesis was written, as many will keep collections of theses dissertations written by their academics.

For example, at Oxford most theses can be found on SOLO, or you can get in touch with our Theses Department for more information on how to access specific theses.

Finding theses on a subject?

If instead you wish to search more broadly for any theses relevant to your subject you may first want to look at larger indexes, these are often separated by geographical area. For example:

British & Irish theses: try Ethos and ProQuest as listed above but also Thesis Completed (Institute of Historical Research): Theses Completed 1901-1970 are available in British History Online, 1971-2019 will be added in autumn 2019.
British, Irish and North American theses: ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global

Thouroude V. Foot, 'Sickness, disability, and miracle cures: hagiography in England, c. 700 - c. 1200' DPhil Thesis 2015, Oxford University
This thesis considers how religious literature represented sickness and disability in Anglo- Saxon and post-Conquest England. Based on Gospel accounts of Jesus's healings, narratives of miracle-cures were highly valued within medieval Christian culture.
Lawrence Koblenz, 'From Sin to Science: The Cancer Revolution of the Nineteenth Century' PhD Thesis 2013, Columbia University
Thesis which looks at the ideological and medicinal "revolution" which took place in the 19th century which changed the way in which cancer was seen, understood, and treated. This novel approach has continued into the present day.
Yvette F Lane, 'Good business: Charity, capitalism, and the moral economy of the watercress and flower girls' mission, London 1866-1914' PhD Thesis 2017, Rutgers University
A thesis studying John Groom's Watercress and Flower Girls’ Mission that examines the struggle of people with disabilities to find work/independence in late 19th / early 20th centuries in context of a London and faith-based philanthropic endeavour.
Hilary E. Pearson 'Teresa de Cartagena: a late medieval woman's theological approach to disability' Dphil Thesis 2010, Oxford University.
This thesis studies how a fifteenth century Spanish nun called Teresa de Cartagena dealt spiritually with disability through a literary and theological analysis of her writings. She was physically disabled, having become deaf as an adult but also having endured many illnesses. This thesis demonstrates that, although in general her theology was orthodox and unoriginal, it was unusual for a woman of her time and background.

Definitions

Terms you may encounter in your research

Thesis:
In the UK, a thesis is normally a document that presents an author's research findings as part of a doctoral or research programme.

Dissertation:
In the UK, a dissertation is normally a document that presents an author's research findings as part of an undergraduate or master's programme.

(note that in the US the definitions of thesis and dissertation are reversed)

PhD/DPhil:
An abbreviation for Doctor of Philosophy, which is an advanced research qualification.

Disability History Resources: Theses and Dissertations

Introduction

How to find Theses and Dissertations

Looking for specific theses?

Finding theses on a subject?

Definitions